Hi there! New guy from Stockholm joining this forum - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 09-29-2009, 03:14 AM
Beginner

I'm new to this forum but not new to vegetariansim. I've been a vegetarian, of sorts, since I was 17. I'm 41 now so that's been a few years. I work as a social worker/mental nurse, and on my free time I play music in the streets, draw comics, cuddle with my wife (the "vegan-taliban" of the house!) or play with my grandkids. Or step-grandkids I should say, those are my step-daughter's kids. In any case, I was a grandpa before I turned 40 and I can only recommend it!

As for the vegetarian thing... I've eaten eggs off and on, from time to time I've eaten fish or meat when served by strangers but for the last ten years or so it's been lacto-vegetarian all the way, unless by mistake. Which happens less and less often since you do get used to checking everything you buy and asking everyone who serves you anything.

I was never attched to meat or fish, I realize this now in later years. It never mattered to me, giving it up was very easy. A few years back I also realized that the attachment I have to dairy is perhaps similar to what some others have to meat and fish and if I want to go around advocating a meat free lifestyle (which I do from time to time, especially in my comics) then perhaps I should try to do without something I'm attached to. So I went vegan for a few months to challange myself.