Lack of Vitamin D - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 05-21-2008, 08:00 PM

I eat mostly Raw, usually over 80%. A friend gave me a nutritional analysis for 4 days while I went 100% raw.

Conclusion, I had 0% of the RDA for vitamin D.

So, on doing research for Vitamin D I find that there is little way for raw, or even vegan to get this vitamin unless you want to spend time in the sun.

I don't spend much time in the sun(maybe I'll change that), I am wondering if anyone else does anything or has any special vitamin D food?

Kevin
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 05-21-2008, 08:09 PM
Banned

D2 (Ergocalciferol) is vegan, no? you can take a supplement.
#3 Old 05-21-2008, 08:19 PM

Supplement.

I haven't done that for so long I forgot about them.

If I have to then I will.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#4 Old 05-21-2008, 08:29 PM
Banned

i don't know if you have to (i'm not a nutrition expert), perhaps there is another option and someone will pop up with it. its just nice to know that there is a backup pill out there thats at least vegan, even if its not raw.
#5 Old 05-21-2008, 08:42 PM
Veggie Regular

besides sunlight and supplements, i don't know of anything else vegan.
#6 Old 05-21-2008, 09:09 PM
Veggie Regular

Spend time in the sun... lol
#7 Old 05-22-2008, 09:03 AM
Banned

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chicagoan View Post

Spend time in the sun... lol

i've read that there are a few problems with relying on this method, including:

-your distance from the equator (the further you live from it, the more exposure you'd need. canada, the uk, and most of the US is pretty far from it)

-the colour of your skin (the darker it is, the more sunlight you need to be exposed to, to make enough vitamin d)

-sunscreens and skin cancer (wearing them blocks absorbsion, not wearing them is asking for trouble)