VeggieBoards banner

Can raw food cause temporary rectal itching?

40K views 32 replies 19 participants last post by  lashe81 
#1 ·
Hi all!

I am new to raw food and loving it! I have been eating raw for about a week plus. A few days ago, I started experiencing a very itchy case of rectal itching! I did not have this problem before starting raw foods. Has anyone else had this problem AFTER starting raw foods? I know many people have this problem BEFORE starting raw food and then experience relief. So why am I having it now? My diet currently consists of green smoothies, fruits and veggies, not too much fat. I am 100 percent raw most days; on the days I am not I am still about 90 percent Raw and eating cooked vegetarian foods on the other days. I was thinking maybe I picked up a case of parasites from not washing my veggies and fruits. I was told that some people think you get B12 from tiny insects on fruits and veggies and so not to wash and scrub them clean. Two days after I started itching my husband complained of rectal itching too (we had not had "relations" since I starting being itchy). I've been feeding him the green smoothies (with unwashed organic veggies) lately. He still eats mostly cooked foods with dairy and some meat.

So if it is because of unwashed fruits and veggies, will it go away on it's own as I keep eating this healthy diet? Are we "expelling" parasites now? If we are "expelling" them, shouldn't they be dead? I've also been taking a probiotic for the last 2 weeks, should that help?

I know itchy anus is a sign of low HCL, but then, I didn't have this itchy problem before the green smoothies, so why would I be experiencing it now?

I would love to hear your ideas, thoughts and insights!!!!

PS: I had a thought to rub coconut oil "down there," externally and a little bit internally (because of it's anti-microbial properties etc...), would that HELP or be BAD in any way?

See less See more
#3 ·