Bad experience online - Need some different perspectives and safe space to vent - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 
 23Likes
  • 4 Post By jessandreia
  • 2 Post By silva
  • 2 Post By ashleycharters
  • 3 Post By David3
  • 4 Post By Jamie in Chile
  • 3 Post By daphney1
  • 1 Post By Knowtions In Motion
  • 1 Post By ashleycharters
  • 1 Post By Purp
  • 2 Post By mooncat

#1 Old 01-19-2017, 06:34 PM

Bad experience online - Need some different perspectives and safe space to vent

(Fair warning: I am a highly sensitive person, and going through a rough time right now. So this is probably affecting me more than it would a "normal" person on a "normal" day)

Hi,

I am brand new to vegetarianism and veganism, and I just had a heated argument on facebook on an animal rights post that devolved into a person who said she is vegan essentially berating me because I am a vegetarian now and am "transitioning" to veganism. I understand her argument and anger. She is angry for the same reason that I am angry, because of the murder and exploitation of countless animals in the meat and dairy industries. And I understand her argument, that since I am a vegetarian I should "know better" and that every day that I haven't completed my transition, I am still contributing to the pain and suffering that I abhor (which, believe me, I definitely understand).
But it just felt so combative and really hurt and frustrated me (ex: she said: "the slaughterhouse screams are ignored by those that keep eating animal products...ahem, ahem, for example YOU!" and "Good luck to you and prayers for those animals that become what you choose to eat"). I told her a couple of times that we are on the "same side" and that I felt like it was counterproductive to berate people for not going vegan earlier if the goal is for them to go vegan period. And she essentially said that she has been vegan since she was 12, and that she isn't better than anyone "but I am less cruel than many".