-Vegan butter/cheese replacements? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 
 40Likes

#1 Old 07-12-2016, 06:39 PM

-Vegan butter/cheese replacements?

I'm new to this lifestyle. I'm sorry if this is a silly question. Are there any cheese/butter replacements that you guys recommend?

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 07-12-2016, 06:50 PM
Veggie Regular

I love Earth Balance buttery spread. Smart Balance organic is also vegan.

Daiya makes a really good cheese substitute and Chao slices are good as well.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
#3 Old 07-12-2016, 06:53 PM

-Thank you!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#4 Old 07-12-2016, 06:55 PM
Veggie Regular

For butter, I think Earth Balance tastes like normal butter (if palm oil isn't a problem for you). Becel also has a vegan butter, but I've never tried it.
For cheeses, out of the ones I've tried, Chao cheese slices from Field Roast and Daiya mozzarella shreds are the most decent ones, in my opinion. I have also heard good things about Follow Your Heart cheese.

"We have enslaved the rest of the animal creation, and have treated our distant cousins in fur and feathers so badly that beyond doubt, if they were able to formulate a religion, they would depict the Devil in human form." - William Ralphe Inge

Last edited by jessandreia; 07-12-2016 at 07:03 PM.
#5 Old 07-12-2016, 07:12 PM
Plant Powered

I third the recommendation for Earth Balance. Daiya has cheddar cheese slices that are pretty good for grilled cheese, or for on veggie burgers - they have a really authentic texture, and melt really well. I've heard Miyoko's Kitchen cheeses are amazing, but haven't tried any yet - they are hard to find here! ^_^
Sophia Rahming and Thalassa like this.
#6 Old 07-12-2016, 07:49 PM
Veggie Regular

Quote:
Originally Posted by jessandreia View Post
For butter, I think Earth Balance tastes like normal butter (if palm oil isn't a problem for you). Becel also has a vegan butter, but I've never tried it.