• 2 Post By Naturebound
  • 1 Post By greenT
  • 1 Post By jennb
  • 1 Post By Aliakai
  • 1 Post By Mon7que
  • 2 Post By Mon7que

#1 Old 04-11-2016, 05:43 AM

Starting point

Whats a good starting point for going vegan? Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 04-11-2016, 06:21 AM
Veggie Regular

I think that will depend a lot on your situation.

My suggestion is to do it slowly. Perhaps see if you can find a vegan food you really like....like a curry or whatever.....and then you can add that to your regular diet. Once you're comfortable with that, find another item and repeat until you have replaced all of your foods.

Once you've done that perhaps see if you can stop buying wool products. Once that is easy for you you can stop buying leather or something similar just like the food thing.

The idea is to not make it impossibly difficult. I have been "vegan" for around five years now and I am still learning how I can make more compassionate choices in my life. I still have a ways to go and my current thing is finding out more about fair trade and the such so I can try to treat our fellow humans better. I will have plenty of things I can start doing after I've figured this out as well.

Every step you take makes a difference so try not to worry about how quickly you get there.
#3 Old 04-11-2016, 07:21 PM
Vegan since 1991

Quote:
Originally Posted by Angelmel33 View Post
Hi Angelmel,

Here is a fantastic Vegetarian (actually vegan) Starter Guide. On page 13, it does a great job of summarizing vegan nutrition. It also has many easy meal ideas: http://www.mercyforanimals.org/files/VSG.pdf

_________

Specific recommendations for a healthy diet include: eating more fruit, vegetables, legumes, nuts and grains; cutting down on salt, sugar and fats. It is also advisable to choose unsaturated fats, instead of saturated fats and towards the elimination of trans-fatty acids."
- United Nations' World Health Organization
http://www.who.int/topics/diet/en/
Sponsored Links