• 2 Post By David3
  • 1 Post By silva
  • 2 Post By SteveW
  • 1 Post By tfvc.org
  • 1 Post By Placi

#1 Old 02-20-2016, 09:43 AM

A good nutrition app?

Hey guys!
I was wondering if you had any recommendations for how to track nutrients...
I have recently been diagnosed with iron deficient anaemia. Now this of course wasn't only caused by a lack of iron in my diet (other reasons i wont put here!!), but i definitely think that my iron consumption has gone down, since i no longer want to eat animal protein, which hasn't helped. I do try and eat as many beans and pulses, dark vegetables etc, but I'm still learning about how much is in these products per 100g etc.

So I've been looking for a way to calculate my nutrients. Not just to look at my iron but I'd also find it interesting to compare my vegan diet to a non-vegan and see the differences...I've looked at some of the calorie counting apps, but they don't go into enough detail for me.

Does anyone have any websites? or failing that, how do you guys keep track on your own?

(P.s) one of my offline friends said that she just takes a supplement and then knows that she's had enough. I personally don't agree with taking these multi-vitamin tablets, so thats not an option for me either I'm afraid)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 02-20-2016, 10:59 AM
Vegan since 1991

Http://www.cronometer.com is a good one

_________

Specific recommendations for a healthy diet include: eating more fruit, vegetables, legumes, nuts and grains; cutting down on salt, sugar and fats. It is also advisable to choose unsaturated fats, instead of saturated fats and towards the elimination of trans-fatty acids."
- United Nations' World Health Organization
http://www.who.int/topics/diet/en/
#3 Old 02-20-2016, 12:32 PM
Give peas a chance

Sparkpeople.com