Which is better... - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 
 54Likes

#1 Old 06-10-2015, 01:22 PM

Which is better...

I have been reading a lot of the threads throughout the vegan forums and have noticed that a fair bit of irritation occurs when people call themselves vegans but still 'insert offense here'. Examples of offenses could be continuing to eat honey, not using separate kitchen tools for your meat-eating family, or any such non-vegan behaviors. So, as a newbie here in the forums, I would like to pose a question to the seasoned vegan veterans (and anyone else that cares to add their opinion...).

Which is better? Continuing to use items that either came from an animal (such as leather shoes or kitchen tools/appliances that you purchased before becoming a vegan) or throwing away items because they are not part of a vegan lifestyle?

I know that many people will say that you don't have to throw away these items, you can just give them away, but I'm asking more about older items that other people may not want (like used shoes). Plus this is a little bit of a philosophical question...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 06-10-2015, 01:28 PM
Super Moderator

I think that depends on the item, and I don't think this is specifically a vegan issue. Are you going to use the item? Would anyone else be able to use it? You mention old shoes, and I know that charity shops will take old shoes as long as they're still functional. If they're full of holes and impossible to use, then you won't be wearing them yourself, either, will you? I see no sense in keeping something broken in your possession, so in that case you might as well throw it away.
#3 Old 06-10-2015, 01:29 PM
Chaotic Vegetarian

For leather, the product has been purchased, the harm is done. You can keep using the shoes, as a reminder of what you used to consume. I find it very weird to try to get rid of one's old stuff because of different ethics. To me it sounds like trying to erase one's past.