New to Vegan - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 12-18-2012, 02:30 PM

Today I have made the transition from  pesco- vegetarian to Vegan.  No more testing the waters. I am hoping this will be an easy transition. I feel happier that I made this decision.

I bought a few unknown foods to me and was wondering if someone can give me some suggestions for them.

I wanted to try some new things. Today I bought some quinoa (?),  barley(?),  milled golden flax (?), and lots of beans, (navy, chic peas, peas, pinto).  What can I do with the beans besides soup?

I also bought some tofu. I have never used this before but I bought some stir fry veggies and thought of making a stir fry with it. Would that work?

Thanks

Werewolf Girl likes this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 12-18-2012, 02:48 PM
Veggie Regular

Beans - cook them, mash them, add seasonings to taste, eat them with quinoa or rice or pasta or bread or in tortillas, or just with other vegetables. Curry spices make bean curry, Mexi spices make Tex-Mex beans, Italian seasonings make an Italian dish.

Add some flax and mold the beans into a loaf or patties, fry them and eat them as you would a burger.

Tofu - if it's firm, just toss them in with the stirfry, If it's softer tofu, you can use it as you would eggs.

Quinoa is cooked basically like rice, boil in water (or veggie broth) until it's puffed up somewhat. If you pre-soak barley, it doesn't take too long to cook. Also, use as you would rice.

I always wonder about people who say they "love" animals, but continue to eat meat. If that's your idea of love, I question what sort of twisted world view you must have.

#3 Old 12-18-2012, 02:53 PM
Zelda Freak