Starseed you said you were worried about gelatin and lard in your beans, candy, sour cream and possibly medication.
Some Mexican restaurants do still use the lard (as you know) in the pinto or refried beans, but keep the black beans veggie-friendly. (no idea why) You may still be able to get refried beans that are vegetarian, just ask your waitstaff. Yes, Taco Bell's beans are vegetarian.
There is a list of vegan candies Here.
Get yourself in the habit of reading the ingredient label of products you buy. You can also shop at "safe" online stores like veganessentials.com , Vegangoods.com, veganstore.com, etc..
I've also heard good reviews on Rice-Mellow
for those who miss marshmellow Smores.
Sour cream - others have already pointed you in the right direction to Tofutti Better Than Sour Cream or dairy companies like Stoney Brook Farms or Breakstone who do not use gelatin.
Veg*n vitamins can be purchased at Freeda Vitamins
, vegetarian vitamin
, vegan unlimited
, Veg Life
To answer the original question: No, I don't consume gelatin. I will admit that as a vegetarian I didn't know what it was or realize that I was eating it in my yogurt. Once I found out what it was - I absolutely was sickened and cut it out. Now I have been vegan for a year and feel so much better physically, mentally and emotionally. You'd be surprised what the FDA says is okay to put in your food. Even if I wasn't vegan, I would be somewhat of a product purist... reading labels and only eating / using products that contain ingredients that I know and feel comfortable putting into my body.
Don't take disagreements on VB
personally. If everyone agreed, then no one would learn anything new. Make sense. I learned so much from this board arguing, debating and becoming friends with people here. I love VB