• 1 Post By Ukvege
  • 1 Post By otomik
  • 1 Post By unovegan2
  • 1 Post By Amira_Loves_Vegggies

#1 Old 10-10-2015, 02:12 PM
Witch of the South

Send a message via Skype™ to Loki Laufeyson
Obsessed with meat?

Why is this world so obsessed with meat? I am new to vegetarianism, I've only been one since August 1st. Every time I try to buy any foods that are already made from the store, they all have meat in them. Even if it is something as simple as mashed potatoes, there is always "Mashed potatoes with bacon".

Why is this such a big deal to people? Why do people "need" meat so much? I get it if you actually need meat medically, but come on.

I know you basically have to buy ingredients and make everything yourself, but when you are low-income and on less than $150 in food stamps, your options are limited.

I find frozen dinners that are just veggies, they look appetizing, until I see "with chicken" or "with bacon".

I don't want to live off of meat substitutes. Most of them are gross anyway.

What is the obsession? Why can I not be vegetarian on a budget?
MadamSarcastra likes this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 10-10-2015, 02:18 PM
Veggie Regular

If you're buying prepared foods (whether veg*n or not), you're eating much more expensively than necessary.

It's much cheaper(not to mention healthier) to cook your own food rather than to buy it prepared.
#3 Old 10-10-2015, 02:30 PM
Super Moderator

You can be veg'n very cheaply.
What are your circumstances? Do you rely on others for food, do you cook for others? Is it just you?
I buy beans and lentils dry, in bulk or in bags on sale. Today I just bought yellow and green split peas, black beans, and barley, in one pound bags for $1.00 each. For beans I cook one pound at a time and freeze half. For lentils and dal Ill use as needed because they cook quickly