Do you think it's hypocritical to be a vegetarian and wear leather? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 
 7Likes

#1 Old 06-16-2011, 03:27 AM

Do you think it's hypocritical to be a vegetarian and wear leather?

I've been a vegetarian for about a year, and I'm still learning. I recently bought some shoes because I like the way they look and they're in my price range. Now I'm starting to rethink the purchase because according to the hideous red tag on the shoes, they're leather. Without getting too graphic, do you think it's cruel to support leather manufacturing? Or do you think it's okay to wear leather? Thanks!

Thanks a lot for all of your replies. I'm really glad I posted this thread, and you're all definitely helping me craft who I am as a vegetarian. I returned the shoes today.

Also, I've been considering becoming a truck driver for a while. Through this whole shoe conundrum and a recent road trip I took, I've decided that if I do, I will not transport meat or livestock. Any thoughts on that would be great too.
Grace Steps likes this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 06-16-2011, 03:32 AM
Veggie Regular

Personally I think its a tad hypocritical.
If youre not going to eat the cow, why wear it.

There are a great deal of good show companies who make vegan shoes (that includes glue that contains no animal by products too)
You can check out Rocketdog (their manmade shoes contain vegan glues-watch out as they do make leather shoes aswell)
Draven are vegan
Inamagura are vegan
Iron Fist are vegan
and Irregular Choice have a vegan range
Also check out http://www.bboheme.com/

Hope this helps.
#3 Old 06-16-2011, 03:36 AM
Veggie Regular

Yes, providing someone is veg*n for ethical or environmental reasons. If they're veg*n for health reasons only, then it's not hypocritical.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#4 Old 06-16-2011, 03:39 AM
Veggie Regular