not finishing college - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 01-24-2009, 05:12 PM
Veggie Regular

Sometimes I feel like such a muck up cause I haven't gone back to finish up what I started (a medical coding program) but then I didn't really like the program that much. I can't think of anything I want to do for sure. I hate to waste all that money on something for nothing. I have thought about just getting a management degree.

I have no clue what I want to be when I grow up.

I work at a bank now and I have been there for going on 4 years and I am kinda bored. My manager hasn't sent me to training for the next step up of jobs cause I think she thinks I am too shy and softspoken to go to the next level .

I have been doing the job I am doing now for 3 years and I am kinda bored and annoyed at the childishness of the people I work with. I have been a head teller for this time a teller for three years and I want to do something else. I like my job but I need to be challenged. I deal with people every day. Why couldn't I sit in an office and open accounts???

I am not sure where to place this thread
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 01-24-2009, 05:38 PM
Veggie Regular

I'm a genetics major, and I find the material pretty interesting. You could try taking classes from different areas and see what interests you.
#3 Old 01-24-2009, 05:47 PM
Veggie Regular

that is true but not free...
#4 Old 01-24-2009, 05:55 PM
Banned

if you want to step up the ladder, i think you need to show your manager that you can do it, and that you really want it. be assertive- ask again for some training. sell yourself. convince her!

if she doesn't think you have the assertiveness skills, ask for training in this area. ask her to specify what you need to do to be ready for the training- for clear and measureable targets and goals to work towards to get there.