relocating in the EU - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 10-19-2006, 03:29 PM
Veggie Regular

i'm romanian so next year i'll be a EU citizen. does anyone know how easy it will be for me to move to another country in the western EU or switzerland? what are the steps i'll need to take? i play online poker for a living (i don't know if i'm considered a freelancer or self-employed) and i'll probably be making at least 5-10 times the money the average person in the EU makes, so i'm thinking many countries woud love to have me since financial issues seem to be very important in this kind of situation . also do you have any idea where i could find info about what taxes i'll need to pay for online gambling profits? and if you know any good vegan friendly places on top of that it would be perfect... please any kind of help tytyty
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 10-20-2006, 03:35 AM
Veggie Regular

I would think England would be the most vegan-friendly place within the EU. Most of the other EU countries have pretty heavy dairy industry and not a lot of compassion for (specifically farming) animals, unfortunately. The southern EU-members like Spain and Italy are not so pushy on the dairy but have no clue about veg*nism (generalizing here). Cities would be better than countryside.

I have no idea about the citizenship or taxes issues, I even think gambling may be illegal in a couple of countries, you need to look that up maybe on one of the EU websites. They have Q&A sections.

Switzerland, while being one of my favourite countries in Europe, is not an EU-member and is very, very hard to get into. They further toughened their immigration laws a few weeks ago.
#3 Old 10-20-2006, 05:29 AM
Veggie Regular

I would second the UK as a good choice for veg*ans. I've a friend in the UK who also plays online poker, and I don't think he pays taxes for it. Then again, I don't know much about these things. Are your only requirements low taxes and a veg*an-friendly place?