Get a Job? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 12-16-2004, 12:16 AM
Banned

I have to vent about something that really pissed me off today. It was 40 degrees Houston this morning. On my way to work, I passed a homeless man on the sidewalk wearing shorts, a tattered shirt, and flip flops asking for change. Some vile man walked past him and started screaming at him and told him to "get a job". In the past, I have uttered the same exact phrase to panhandlers. Get a job. I have a friend with a masters degree from Rice, and she's been unemployed for almost two years. She has a physical address, a lan line, a cell phone, a nice car, a complete wardrobe ect... and she can't find a job.

My heart broke for that man. It was so cold, and he was wearing shorts!

In the past, everyone that I had trusted had betrayed my trust, and this incudes family members. I had decided that in order to avoid being hurt, I just wouldn't feel anymore. My compassionate side was on ice.

Well, I guess it's coming back, because things like this are starting to hurt me deeply. I've prayed to God to give me compassion, and he answered that prayer.

I just can't believe that I used to walk around treating homeless people like dog crap on the bottom of my shoe. I'm bringing a blanket that I don't use anymore to work tomorrow and giving it to the first homeless person I see.

How the heck does that vile man expect that poor man to get a job?

I know I'm rambling, and maybe I'm not making much sense, but I had to get this out. My friends didn't seem interested in listening to me talk about this, so I'm telling you guys. Being compassionate hurts sometimes, but I would rather feel this than feel nothing at all.

Thanks for letting me *****. I feel better now.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 12-16-2004, 12:23 AM

Cat Good for you. You'll feel better.