calcium - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
#1 Old 12-04-2003, 05:03 AM
Veggie Regular
 
vegan23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 268
does anyone here know where the calcium they use as a supplement in some foods or drinks comes from? as far as i know,it's a vegan source,but i wanna be sure
vegan23 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 12-04-2003, 08:56 AM
 
missleigh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,792
Calcium lactate is not usually vegan, although it can be made from beets. Calcium carbonate is from the earth, a chalky substance from rocks (not highly absorbable, but cheap). Calcium citrate is vegan, although I'm not sure of it's origin, the same with calcium hydroxy apitate (Both highly absorbable). Coral calcium comes from coral reefs, and oyster shell calcium is exactly what it's called, from oyster shells (not very absorbable).
missleigh is offline  
#3 Old 12-04-2003, 10:48 AM
Newbie
 
Spartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by missleigh View Post

Calcium lactate is not usually vegan, although it can be made from beets. Calcium carbonate is from the earth, a chalky substance from rocks (not highly absorbable, but cheap). Calcium citrate is vegan, although I'm not sure of it's origin, the same with calcium hydroxy apitate (Both highly absorbable). Coral calcium comes from coral reefs, and oyster shell calcium is exactly what it's called, from oyster shells (not very absorbable).



Missleigh is correct. I just want to add a couple more, in case you see them in food products/supplements. Bone meal is rich in calcium and trace minerals, but is made from ground up cattle bones. It was once very popular, but is now used mostly in pet food formulas. Dolomite is rich in both calcium & magnesium, as is extracted from rocks.
Spartan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#4 Old 12-04-2003, 11:05 AM
Veggie Regular
 
vegan23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 268
thanks for replying but what about plain calcium? like with orange juice(and many other products) where the label says "fortified with calcium,magnesium..." what are its origins when it's "just" calcium?
vegan23 is offline  
#5 Old 12-04-2003, 12:50 PM
Veggie Regular
 
epski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 12,374
Horizon's organic, pulp-free OJ uses Tricalcium Phosphate. TCP is commonly used to fortify soymilk as well. It's absorption is usually measured as lower than cow's milk (roughly 24 versus 31).



Informative link:



http://www.foodproductdesign.com/arc...3/0203INI.html
epski is offline  
#6 Old 12-05-2003, 12:00 PM
Veggie Regular
 
Lothar M Kirsch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Cologne
Posts: 2,144
Most extensive form of calcium in rheumatology: calciumcarbonate, which originally was made out of white marble debris in Italy.

If I'm not answering quickly enough - leave a note on Twitter for @Rheumatologe
Lothar M Kirsch is offline  
#7 Old 12-05-2003, 02:49 PM
Newbie
 
Spartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 74
Oh, I forgot to add that calcium lactate is usually derived from milk.
Spartan is offline  
#8 Old 02-28-2005, 05:26 PM
Newbie
 
jimbojeans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 9
Ha, this thread is pretty old, but I had a question about calcium. I bought some Del Monte raisins and they're enriched with calcium. It says it contains tricalcium phosphate which I guess is vegan but is also contains Cluconal Calcium. I can't find anything on the internet about cluconal calcium. Anyone have any ideas?
jimbojeans is offline  
#9 Old 02-28-2005, 05:50 PM
Veggie Regular
 
beforewisdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3,190
I use these, they are balanced with magnesium, vegan vitamin D, and it uses calcium citrate -> the most absorbable form of calicum supplement:



https://secure9.nexternal.com/shared...RowID=432&All=

My Blog: beforewisdom.com
beforewisdom is offline  
#10 Old 03-01-2005, 06:29 AM
Veggie Regular
 
Lothar M Kirsch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Cologne
Posts: 2,144
Calcium gluconate is plant derived. Calcium lactate may also be vegan, it depents, where the lactate comes from and this may often come from milk.

If I'm not answering quickly enough - leave a note on Twitter for @Rheumatologe
Lothar M Kirsch is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the VeggieBoards forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in


Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off