how to build up immunity against colds - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 02-13-2009, 06:22 PM
Veggie Regular

I'm a college student and since I've come back to school over the holiday break I have caught 3 colds. That's 3 colds in less than 2 months. I like taking homeopathic remedies, I avoid regular medicine at all costs. The last time I took Tylenol I had 105 degree fever (almost 2 yrs ago) so it was quite necessary, but for colds I don't see the need. It will eventually go away. Anyway, I've never had a problem like this before in fact I normally get colds once or twice a year. So any ideas on what I can put into my diet or do to build up my immune system. I can't handle another cold. I kind of loose my mind when I have a cold anyway, like today I left my sigg bottle in 2 of my classes and then at the dining hall. So any help is much appreciated!

Also any ideas on how to relieve cold symptoms is extra helpful! I have just started using nasal rinse and I use herbal cough drops and drink green tea.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 02-13-2009, 06:35 PM
Veggie Regular

Its always so hard to tell, when you don't get sick, whether the things you do deliberately prevent colds, or its just a coincidence. I only catch one or two colds a year, but this year everyone I knew got whatever was going around, and I really didn't want to catch it too, so I took some elderberry extract and some zinc lozenges for about two weeks, and I haven't caught anything this season.

*knocks on wood*

When i do catch a cold I really like hot miso broth with a very large quantity of Thai red curry paste, as it makes my face sweat and my nose run. But don't try this is you can't stand really hot stuff. The capsaicin in the paste also reduces the pain of a sore throat, though its hard to understand why, since for many people the peppers themselves cause a great deal of pain. That and lots of vitamin C.

www.thesaucyvegan.com
#3 Old 02-13-2009, 11:12 PM
Veggie Regular