Wisdom Teeth - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 02-27-2007, 01:41 AM

Would anyone like to share their experiences with having their wisdom teeth removed?

Also, how much did you pay to have impacted wisdom teeth removed? I need to start researching surgery soon...mine are impacted and hurt! I was wondering what kind of financing they might have done for you...I am a flat broke college student.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 02-27-2007, 05:38 AM
Banned

If they are truly impacted you should be able to get a med school to remove for you, and offer up an oral surgery resident to do it, instead of a med student. Ask them about filling out a financial form for sliding scale treatment. They probably won't treat this as an emergency unless you have a frank infection, or are in risk of losing your life. Being at risk of losing another tooth is not considered an emergency, since teeth are thought of as expendable, even tho they are, in truth, irreplacable.

Be careful. Go to a good general dentist first and make him think you are rolling in dough and get a treatment plan to save teeth, before you go somewhere where your bank account influences the treatment they will offer. Otherwise they might convince you to remove teeth that you really should NOT have removed. I wouldn't worry about your wisdom teeth tho. It is common practice to remove them if they are causing problems, rather than try to save them. These are the only teeth you should remove, if they are causing problems, rather than try to have saved. You just don't really need them to chew, they are smaller than the other 2 molars.

I had mine removed one at a time over the course of about 2 years. I had all 4 removed by general dentists. They were not impacted, but a couple of them were very decayed and broken down, under the gum, and the dentists spent a long time picking out lots of little pieces. By time I was 30, only one of them had truly erupted nearly completely. The rest were only partly visible.