Fibromyalgia - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 02-21-2007, 11:01 PM

Have any VeggieBoard members been diagnosed with fibromyalgia?

I'm curious to read how other people that have it cope.

I was diagnosed with it about 6 months ago...but I don't know anyone else who has it nor have I ever met anyone that has it.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 02-22-2007, 05:02 AM
Veggie Regular

I was diagnosed about six years ago....I've done all the 'right' things to try and help the symptoms. I've been exercising regularly for about three years now, but have had to cut back somewhat because too much exercise actually makes the symptoms worse. Brisk walking about 30 minutes a day, 3-4 days a week is the max my body can take. I cannot lift weights, use stretchy bands, etc. I also do pilates but have to minimize that as well. I have not seen any difference with regard to diet. I was hoping giving up dairy/eggs would have helped. I just recently started taking Cymbalta as my doctors have been pushing that for the past two years. So I decided to give it a try. I'm only taking 30mg and I'm not seeing much improvement in the pain, but for some reason I can tolerate it better. Supposedly, 60mg of Cymbalta is recommended for depression (which I do not have) but 120 is needed for fybromyalgia pain. I'm not willing to go that high. At least not right now. The 30mg and some ibuprofen is fine for now.
#3 Old 02-22-2007, 09:05 AM
Veggie Regular

a lot of my clients have fibromyalgia and cfs. most of them do daily yoga (either yin yoga or some other restorative form. this is to support their other movement/work--walkng or whatever else they do.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#4 Old 02-22-2007, 08:23 PM
Beginner