veg*nism and eating disorders - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 05-28-2003, 06:01 PM

Hey there, I'm new and I've looked around to see if this topic was already covered on a different thread, never found it, so I thought I'd start it--if it is somewhere else, just let me know! In the introductions threads, Palindrome (whom I have not yet met )made mention of the relationship between eating disorders and veg*nism. I've had some experience with this before but never really thought of it as a common occurance, so I'm very interested! Anyone have any more information on the subject or know where such information is available? Thanks!

Jamie
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 05-29-2003, 09:12 AM
Kyo
Veggie Regular

I'n no expert but the way I understand it is anorexics often look for reasons to limit their food choices and consume fewer calories. Since especially vegan diets tend to be lower calories and veg*ns are often thought of as being thin, veganism is attractive to them. So, there are a disproportional amount of anorexics among the veg*n population.

Also people that are overweight might be attracted to veg*nism because they think it's a way to loose weight. Well, that's not necessarilly true (it depends on what you eat and people can loose weight w/o becoming veg*n), but that's what they think.
#3 Old 05-29-2003, 12:06 PM
Veggie Regular

How many years were you anorexic, Kyo?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#4 Old 05-29-2003, 12:58 PM
Kyo
Veggie Regular

DeeYahMK;

I was never anorexic but I've read about the connection between anorexia and vegetarianism.
#5 Old 05-29-2003, 01:15 PM

i am also very curious about the +50% figure that palindrome cited.

what is your source for this statistic, palindrome?
#6 Old 05-29-2003, 02:28 PM
Kyo
Veggie Regular

miss gulch;

I looked at palindrome's post and this is what he/she said

Quote:
you might be interested to know that the number of veg*ans with eating disorders, incurred or current is quite high. over 50%.