Question for all you healthcare workers - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 10-30-2011, 07:33 PM
Veggie Regular

Hi there!

I was recently accepted into a local university's pre-med program. (Really excited about this!!!) I'm a third year college student who is still pretty undecided about what she wants to do with her life. But... I'm thinking I really want to be a family doctor.

For the doctors and nurses on VB, do you really feel like you help people? Or do you feel like every patient is just another chart to complete? Do you feel like it is impossible to make a difference because the health care system in the US is just too far gone, or do you feel like you still get through to people?

I'm scared I'm going to complete medical school and a super-draining residency only to find out that I can't do a damn thing to help people. And that's all I really want to do. I want to educate and help people.

And on a side note, what's up with the lack of nutrition courses in the MD program? I've done nothing but pour over Texas medical college programs this weekend and the lack of nutrition courses is frightening.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 10-31-2011, 07:45 AM
Veggie Regular

I'm surprised no one had jumped on this one! yes, you can make a difference in someone's life by giving them your undivided attention, and actually LISTEN to your patients. That's the firstmost complaint a pt has with their provider, is there isn't time to talk to their Dr, and they don't have the time to listen to them wholeheartedly.