Vegans in the land of cheese! - VeggieBoards

Vegans in the land of cheese!

CaptainNoFun's Avatar CaptainNoFun
07:36 PM 01-01-2015
It's been a while since I've seen anything posted in the Wisconsin section, so I figured I'd just say hello....
I'm new to Madison, WI, just moved out here in August 2014. I'm happy to be in a more liberal area (coming from the St. Louis/bible belt area) and so far, even from cheese heads, I've received a lot of support in being vegan. Even people at work have started telling me about restaurants in the area with vegan options.
I was curious if anyone does meet ups in the area for vegans/vegetarians?
Stay warm! (haha...because it's really freakin cold right now....)

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Capstan's Avatar Capstan
08:38 PM 01-01-2015
I moved to Wis. in the mid-90s from the Dallas, TX area. I'm in the west-central part of the state, about 150-miles from Madison, in a small city of about 1000. Not too liberal here, all dairy farmers and hunters. I'm still the only veg*n I know. Sometimes I wish I was in a more urban area, but I suppose it's a tradeoff- I love the quiet of small town life. The last time an airplane flew over was about 10-years ago. The biggest news we ever had was when they installed a new stop-sign in town. Very exciting! Funny, California has taken over as the #1 producer of cheese in the nation, while Wisconsin has become the biggest grower of cranberries. So technically, we're not the "Dairy State" anymore, but I expect that's a title they won't give up easily.

What prompted you to move up here?
River's Avatar River
08:40 PM 01-01-2015
I'll be passing through Madison on my way to Michigan in June. Do you enjoy it there?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

10:01 PM 01-01-2015
My fiance was hired at Epic Systems and relocated up in the area around April and then I followed later. I love that Wisconsin won't let go of the dairy thing....every time you see cheese anywhere it's "100% Wisconsin cheese!"