Animal Fat in Cheese? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
#1 Old 06-12-2009, 06:57 AM
Newbie
 
meg+dia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6
I heard somewhere that some cheeses have animal fat in them..

Is this true? And if yes, do they have to say on the packet if it does?
meg+dia is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 06-12-2009, 07:15 AM
Newbie
 
WisdoM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 40
Sometimes cheese is made with animal enzymes/rennet, and sometimes it is marked on the package. There's no animal fat though...
WisdoM is offline  
#3 Old 06-12-2009, 07:16 AM
Beginner
 
Kotegaeshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 138
I don't think there's any cheese which actually has added fat that I've ever heard of. Obviously all cheese is high in animal fat from the milk it's made of. Do you mean fat as in from flesh like lard? I don't think so. Some cheese is non-vegetarian because it uses rennet which is an enzyme taken from an animal. I've never heard of fat being added.
Kotegaeshi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#4 Old 06-12-2009, 07:27 AM
Newbie
 
oldiebutvegan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 32
Of course cheese has animal fat in it. It is quite fattening, and made from milk, which is an animal-derived food. This is why vegans are vegan; we don't eat animal foods or animal fats at all. It is not good for your health, nor the environment, nor the animals themselves.
oldiebutvegan is offline  
#5 Old 06-12-2009, 07:34 AM
Veggie Regular
 
AwardTour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 300
legitimate question, helpful response, helpful response, bam stereotypical mad at the world vegan response.
AwardTour is offline  
#6 Old 06-12-2009, 07:43 AM
Veggie Regular
 
Mrs. Skittles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 911
Quote:
Originally Posted by AwardTour View Post

legitimate question, helpful response, helpful response, bam stereotypical mad at the world vegan response.



Agreed. Sometimes people forget this is a board for all types of vegetarians.
Mrs. Skittles is offline  
#7 Old 06-12-2009, 08:00 AM
Veggie Regular
 
clarita osita's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 3,862
As far as I know, cheese doesn't normally have lard added to it, no. It often has rennet, as wisdom and kotegaeshi said. Rennet is an enzyme taken from the stomach lining of calves.



Quote:
Originally Posted by oldiebutvegan View Post

Of course cheese has animal fat in it. It is quite fattening, and made from milk, which is an animal-derived food. This is why vegans are vegan; we don't eat animal foods or animal fats at all. It is not good for your health, nor the environment, nor the animals themselves.



This is the vegetarian subforum. If you want to bash vegetarians, do it in the vegan forum, not here.
clarita osita is offline  
#8 Old 06-12-2009, 10:36 PM
Newbie
 
oldiebutvegan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 32
"This is the vegetarian subforum. If you want to bash vegetarians, do it in the vegan forum, not here.



And don't be a jerk-off, it's rude."



Name-calling is a bit silly too.
oldiebutvegan is offline  
#9 Old 06-13-2009, 12:02 AM
Veggie Regular
 
clarita osita's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 3,862
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldiebutvegan View Post

"This is the vegetarian subforum. If you want to bash vegetarians, do it in the vegan forum, not here.



And don't be a jerk-off, it's rude."



Name-calling is a bit silly too.



You're right, I took it out. That sort of thing just really bothers me. A lot of vegetarians have mentioned feeling attacked for not being vegan when they're posting in the vegetarian subforum, and it's this sort of thing that enforces that.



Anyway, off topic.
clarita osita is offline  
#10 Old 06-13-2009, 12:10 AM
Newbie
 
bluefirecrest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 18
Regular dairy cheese has natural animal fat. If it's made from milk that has fat in it. Now, if the milk used to make the cheese is lowfat or fat free then the cheese will be low fat or fat free. If it's made from soymilk or rice milk it will probably not have animal fat in it, but will have whatever fat content the milk has in it, or whatever fat content (which is probably vegetable fat hopefully) that has been added to stablize the veggie cheese.

I am lacto ovo, and I am because I love cheese!
bluefirecrest is offline  
#11 Old 02-05-2020, 09:46 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 1
Some Cheddars...

Most clothbound cheddars are coated with lard while they are being wrapped, which means it definitely comes in contact with the outside of the cheese.
Casey B. is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the VeggieBoards forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in


Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off