Do I buy a Juicer or a Smoothie Maker? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 01-01-2009, 09:39 PM

Hi all,

I'm new to this great forum and have just started my vegetarian lifestyle as from today. I've decided that i'd like to start having a healthy kickstart to my days from now on and am unsure as to whether to buy a juicer or a smoothie maker to use at breakfast time. Can anyone give me a helping hand?

Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 01-01-2009, 09:45 PM
Veggie Regular

Juicer, especially if you already have a blender, even an immersion blender or a food processor, as they can do what "smoothie makers" do, but none can do what a juicer does as well (if at all).

Welcome! Congrats on a great lifestyle choice!

"Yes! Live! Life's a banquet and most poor suckers are starving to death!" Auntie Mame
#3 Old 01-01-2009, 09:51 PM
Veggie Regular

Yeah, I agree with Ahimsa. Juicer. Even if you don't have a blender you can get a really cheap one to do the job.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#4 Old 01-01-2009, 10:19 PM
Veggie Regular

I say juicer too for the same reason. I made a great smoothie today in a blender.
#5 Old 01-01-2009, 10:41 PM
Veggie Regular

If you have to choose between one and the other, buying a good blender, making a smoothie, and then pressing the pulp through a cheese cloth will give you juice. This way you can have either with one appliance.

www.thesaucyvegan.com
#6 Old 01-02-2009, 06:09 AM
Banned

I use a blender to make smoothies. I don't have a juicer and can't say I've ever missed it.
#7 Old 01-02-2009, 06:31 AM
Veggie Regular

Quote:
Originally Posted by SomebodyElse View Post

If you have to choose between one and the other, buying a good blender, making a smoothie, and then pressing the pulp through a cheese cloth will give you juice. This way you can have either with one appliance.