programmers: vegan??? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 11-02-2003, 10:57 AM
Veggie Regular

The majority of male vegans i come across are programmers.

Just wondering what the link was?

Are you taught about cruelty to animals in your programming classes?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 11-02-2003, 11:20 AM
Veggie Regular

well i'm a female and i'm a programmer as well.

lets represent both sides
#3 Old 11-02-2003, 12:27 PM
Veggie Regular

Quote:
Originally Posted by kerouac View Post

well i'm a female and i'm a programmer as well.

lets represent both sides

do you many vegan programmers?

what do you think the link is?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#4 Old 11-02-2003, 12:53 PM

LOL, I've also done some computer programming (Visual Basic mainly) in jobs I had prior to my current one. The work I do now is still computer/IT related, but programming isn't a major part of what I do at the moment.

As for a possible link between computer programming and veganism; I know that as a programmer you are still able to find a job which doesn't require too much interaction with co-workers (though in the vast majority of the cases programmers nowadays are as much a teamplayer as anyone else in an organisation, and their employer will likewise also expect a certain level of skill in that department). Following that train of thought people who may have a difficult time identifying themselves with other (not-so-likeminded) people or at least find it hard to communicate and cooperate with others on regular basis, would be very suitable for such a position... I don't suppose it's very unlikely that a lot of vegans fall into this category. That doesn't mean the majority of vegans lack social skills of course... Jobwise it might just not be ideal for them to continuously be around colleagues that are often so much unlike themselves. I am not saying this would apply to all (or even most) vegan programmers, but it may to some. Just a thought...
#5 Old 11-02-2003, 05:21 PM