Brie Cheese, Is it vegetarian? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
#1 Old 08-12-2003, 04:16 PM
Newbie
 
GhostUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 0
Until recently I considered Brie "just plain old cheese." I was reading the label of the Brie I bought from Trader's the other day and it listed Animal Rennet as an ingredient... I looked it up in the dictionary, says: basically the stomache of an unweaned animal.



Ummm, is this true? Anyone know more? Particularly about Brie cheese. Seems to me it's an item I will not be eating anymore!



Thanks for your help in advance.



GhostUser is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 08-12-2003, 04:24 PM
Veggie Regular
 
Quizeen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,180
Almost all cheese produced at the artisanal level or that is imported from outside of the U.S. is produced using animal rennet. Rennet is an enzyme found in the stomaches of unweaned calves. It cannot be "harvested" without actually killing the animal.



Most mass market cheese sold in supermarkets is made using microbial rennet, which is vegetarian. But, it's really a matter of reading the label or contacting the company for your favorite brands. Fortunately, Trader Joe's is really forthcoming with this sort of info. They even have a brochure about it at the front of the stores, near the specials flyers.
Quizeen is offline  
#3 Old 08-12-2003, 04:38 PM
Veggie Regular
 
Coney's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 1,854
Health food stores carry lots of "rennet free" cheese. The rennet thing is what made me quit cheese, actually (after I read about it on this board) I just feel way too friggin bad for the baby cow!



I feel your pain about Brie. I love that squishy cheese on stoned wheat crackers....I don't know if there's a veggie substitute Brie, though.
Coney is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#4 Old 08-12-2003, 04:42 PM
Newbie
 
GhostUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 0
To all that replied. I really appreciate your quick responses and support. Thanks so much. It's so good to have veggie pals out there!



GhostUser is offline  
#5 Old 08-12-2003, 06:20 PM
Kiz
Veggie Regular
 
Kiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 12,132
Hey



I got the best Brie the other day, made with Veg Rennet, and it was truly good. I hardly ever eat dairy, but it was worth breaking that rule for this (oh yeah!!). And I got it from the Supermarket! (It was an Aussie cheese, could have been South Cape, but I'm not sure) Just look at all the labels, you'll find some good stuff soon.

Love the post? Why not buy the T-shirt!
http://www.kiz-shop.de/index.php?page=categorie&cat=8
http://www.kiz-shop.de/index.php?page=product&info=94
Kiz is offline  
#6 Old 08-12-2003, 11:42 PM
Newbie
 
janette's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 91
you can get lots of cheeses that dont have rennet in them
janette is offline  
#7 Old 09-13-2013, 01:44 AM
 
aniaraven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: bromsgrove united kingdom
Posts: 145

I was just wondering the same thing as i bought it recently but i have started wondering what the outside of it is made from. So is it safe to say that it is not vegetarian?

aniaraven is offline  
#8 Old 09-13-2013, 03:07 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Lentil City, UK
Posts: 2,535
Quote:
Originally Posted by aniaraven View Post
 

I was just wondering the same thing as i bought it recently but i have started wondering what the outside of it is made from. So is it safe to say that it is not vegetarian?

 

Most cheeses except Parmesan can be made with vegetarian rennet.  Check ingredients online before going shopping and then you'll know which ones to look for.  To be honest I think a lot of cheese in the UK is probably veggie anyway.

 

This British Brie is vegetarian:

 

http://www.cheese.com/somerset-brie/

60225 is offline  
#9 Old 09-13-2013, 03:11 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Lentil City, UK
Posts: 2,535

http://cheeseonthegreen.com/cheeses/vegetarian

 

A list of UK veggie cheeses

60225 is offline  
#10 Old 09-17-2013, 04:30 AM
 
aniaraven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: bromsgrove united kingdom
Posts: 145
Thank you: -) the one I bought was asdas own brand so probably not vegetarian. If it's got rennet do you know what it's called in the ingredients list or does it just say rennet?
aniaraven is offline  
#11 Old 09-17-2013, 04:51 AM
 
LegallyRed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 33

Wow.  Learnt another new thing.  I am coming to love this forum!

 

There are so many pitfalls to watch out for!  It would never have occurred to me there could be calf stomach in cheese!  Sheesh.  Thankyou all!

LegallyRed is offline  
#12 Old 09-17-2013, 04:54 AM
 
aniaraven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: bromsgrove united kingdom
Posts: 145
Me too legally red. I thought Brie would be fine. It's my favorite cheese
aniaraven is offline  
#13 Old 09-17-2013, 08:20 AM
Siv
Veggie Regular
 
Siv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 456

Rennet is not calf stomach, it's a bunch of enzymes produced in the calf's stomach (or any mammal's stomach for that matter).

 

I find the US to be terrible for finding rennet free cheese. The UK is so much better - almost every cheese is labeled (V) for suitable for vegetarians (i.e. made without animal rennet).

Siv is offline  
#14 Old 08-18-2015, 03:21 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1
Smile Veggie friendly Brie

Lots of places will do a vegetarian Brie if you look into it, in the UK we have Waitress whom label their cheeses as veggie in the deli section, so try some deli counters in supermarkets or do a bit of research for veggie friendly Brie is the US, I am sure you will find some!
Charleylh is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the VeggieBoards forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in


Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off