What do I call myself? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
#1 Old 06-22-2003, 06:33 PM
Newbie
 
GhostUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 0
I know that I am a vegetarian, but I've been hearing you guys throw around words like ovo or lacto? Or something like that.



So this is me, the only thing I don't eat is meat. I still eat all dairy - cheese, milk, eggs...all of that.



So what do I call myself?
GhostUser is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 06-22-2003, 06:35 PM
Newbie
 
GhostUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 0
lacto-ovo vegetarian / just vegetarian



if you only ate eggs (no milk, meat etc) then you'd be an ovo-vegetarian



if you only ate milk (no eggs, meat etc) then you'd be a lacto-ovo vegetarian.



ie. ovo = egg

lacto = milk



Beautiful fire are you 15? and is that your photo there? you look way older than 15, flip! you also look like andrea corr from the irish pop band the corrs in your photo!!
GhostUser is offline  
#3 Old 06-22-2003, 06:38 PM
Newbie
 
GhostUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 0
HAHA! That is Andrea Corr! I don't have a photo of myself yet, so I chose a picture of one of the women I most admire.



Thank you for the expanation, I appreciate it!
GhostUser is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#4 Old 06-22-2003, 09:05 PM
Veggie Regular
 
epski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 12,374
Quote:
Originally posted by veganmuncher

if you only ate milk (no eggs, meat etc) then you'd be a lacto-ovo vegetarian.



I don't think you meant to make this mistake, because you know what ovo means, but milk only means lacto-vegetarian, FYI.



And, yes bf, you are ovo-lacto-vegetarian, as I commonly see it printed and hear it said.
epski is offline  
#5 Old 06-22-2003, 09:11 PM
Veggie Regular
 
4EverGrounded's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 5,644
Lacto-ovo is much more accurate. If you were to say "just vegetarian", it would imply that you don't eat diary (milk, cheese, and eggs) either. As I understand it, vegetarian eats anything except animal products. A vegan seeks to remove animal products from both diet and lifestyle. I may be a tad off on the definations, but that's what I've always understood it to be.
4EverGrounded is offline  
#6 Old 06-22-2003, 09:32 PM
Veggie Regular
 
Brake4Squirrels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 429
lacto-ovo vegetarian.. or just vegetarian
Brake4Squirrels is offline  
#7 Old 06-22-2003, 10:08 PM
Newbie
 
GhostUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 0
by the dictionary a vegetarian is someone who does not eat the flesh of an animal. In my opinion, and seemingly the dictionary's, you can call yourself a vegetarian and be safe from all "LOGICAL" argument. However, if you called yourself a lacto-ovo-vegetarian you would prevent yourself from ever being the victim of a "REAL" vegetarian's rage.



If you know what I mean.



rigmarole
GhostUser is offline  
#8 Old 06-22-2003, 10:16 PM
Veggie Regular
 
Brake4Squirrels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 429
I do not eat fish (I believe fish is good for you, but I've never been able to eat it). As a result, sometimes I take these fish-oil tables that are full of the oils found in fish and omega-3's. They are also coated in a gelatin-made capsule. Although this is not animal flesh or meat, does taking these tables signal a downfall from vegetarianism?
Brake4Squirrels is offline  
#9 Old 06-22-2003, 10:23 PM
Veggie Regular
 
epski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 12,374
Quote:
Originally posted by Brake4Squirrels

I do not eat fish (I believe fish is good for you, but I've never been able to eat it). As a result, sometimes I take these fish-oil tables that are full of the oils found in fish and omega-3's. They are also coated in a gelatin-made capsule. Although this is not animal flesh or meat, does taking these tables signal a downfall from vegetarianism?



Weeelllllll.... how do you think they get the oil from the fish?
epski is offline  
#10 Old 06-22-2003, 10:25 PM
Veggie Regular
 
Brake4Squirrels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 429
so would that mean i'm actually a pesco? even if it's just the oil? or an oil derivative of some kind?
Brake4Squirrels is offline  
#11 Old 06-22-2003, 10:35 PM
Veggie Regular
 
4EverGrounded's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 5,644
Quote:
Originally posted by Brake4Squirrels

I do not eat fish (I believe fish is good for you, but I've never been able to eat it). As a result, sometimes I take these fish-oil tables that are full of the oils found in fish and omega-3's. They are also coated in a gelatin-made capsule. Although this is not animal flesh or meat, does taking these tables signal a downfall from vegetarianism?

AARRRGGGHH! THY VEGETARIAN HETHEN!!! BE GONE, VILE ONE!!! *flicks out a garlic/purewater blend*



Ok, I'm just kidding. I believe that no, it doesn't signal a downfall from vegetarianism at all. I have an exception to my vegetarian rule and that is that health and safety items are allowed to slide by. Meaning: I won't eat gelatin in a food product because I know where it's from but my meds have gelatin in them, so they are the exception. If I had a job that made me do leather or some other by-product (being a welder with a leather protection safety smock is the first example that comes to mind, but there are others) then, it's allowed. A job is necessary, so if there's animals in there, it's beyond my control range, so it's allowed also.



But in going back to the fish for omega3: if you want the omega 3 stuff, then I've heard that flax (both in seed form and meal) are a great source of plant-based omegas as well as walnuts which are better for the human body anyway. I think there are more, but that's all I can think of right now.
4EverGrounded is offline  
#12 Old 06-22-2003, 10:38 PM
Veggie Regular
 
4EverGrounded's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 5,644
Remember, B4S. We are vegetarians and we have a few more allowances than vegans do...
4EverGrounded is offline  
#13 Old 06-22-2003, 10:43 PM
Newbie
 
GhostUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 0
no such thing as a pesco-veg, but feel free to use the term anyway lots of people do.



or you can do as I did. At www.veganessentials.com in their vitamin section they have vegetable source omega 3 essential fatty acids in a totally vegan capsule. Also there's "Spectrum Naturals Essential Omega 3" buttery spread which I picked up at Whole Foods. You could too. Those are but two of many options, also probably the easiest.



rigmarole
GhostUser is offline  
#14 Old 06-22-2003, 10:54 PM
Veggie Regular
 
epski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 12,374
Quote:
Originally posted by Brake4Squirrels

so would that mean i'm actually a pesco? even if it's just the oil? or an oil derivative of some kind?



They way I look at it is they have to kill the fish to steal its oil... so you decide how you feel about that and act accordingly. Don't make your choices based on trying to fit some label. Make your choices based on your ethics.



Ultimately that's what all this arguing around here (and my own insane frustration -- now cooled) boils down to.















PS - But please only use labels that properly describe your ethical choices.
epski is offline  
#15 Old 06-23-2003, 02:49 AM
Veggie Regular
 
Brake4Squirrels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 429
Wow Thanks for the insight and kind advice. Yea, I know other sources of the omega-3's. I'll have to explore my options and choices more I guess.
Brake4Squirrels is offline  
#16 Old 06-23-2003, 03:12 AM
Veggie Regular
 
kpickell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 16,090
Eeek, the capsules are made from gelatin!? That's boiled flesh and bone. You're an omnivore. End of story.



[/sarcasm]
kpickell is offline  
#17 Old 06-23-2003, 05:33 PM
Newbie
 
GhostUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 0
ah yes epski you're right what I ment to say was "lacto-vegetarian"



woops!
GhostUser is offline  
#18 Old 06-23-2003, 05:45 PM
Newbie
 
GhostUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 0
Quote:
Originally posted by DeeYahMK

AARRRGGGHH! THY VEGETARIAN HETHEN!!! BE GONE, VILE ONE!!! *flicks out a garlic/purewater blend*



Ok, I'm just kidding. I believe that no, it doesn't signal a downfall from vegetarianism at all. I have an exception to my vegetarian rule and that is that health and safety items are allowed to slide by. Meaning: I won't eat gelatin in a food product because I know where it's from but my meds have gelatin in them, so they are the exception. If I had a job that made me do leather or some other by-product (being a welder with a leather protection safety smock is the first example that comes to mind, but there are others) then, it's allowed. A job is necessary, so if there's animals in there, it's beyond my control range, so it's allowed also.



But in going back to the fish for omega3: if you want the omega 3 stuff, then I've heard that flax (both in seed form and meal) are a great source of plant-based omegas as well as walnuts which are better for the human body anyway. I think there are more, but that's all I can think of right now.



totally agree with you on the health and safety issue there mate
GhostUser is offline  
#19 Old 06-23-2003, 06:27 PM
Veggie Regular
 
epski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 12,374
I'm more willing to bend for health and safety, too. After all, we're talking about survival issues, and if no other option is available, then you do what you must. As I've said elsewhere, vegans "seek to avoid" animal products and byproducts. If you have a medical or safety need, and there's no alternative, you've done what you can to seek to avoid, but you flat-out can't. Seems you'd still be vegan to me.



I simply don't accept it when people don't exhaust all options first, or find a way to rationalize something they want, and don't need.
epski is offline  
#20 Old 06-23-2003, 06:49 PM
Newbie
 
GhostUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 0
presactly



u do the best u can at the time, do the nicest alternative



what u don't do is turn down medication - we are dead lucky to live in the civilised world in a reasonably civilised age.



i had an ear infection recently and had to have gelatin capsules. Better that than going deaf in one ear and having to explain to people for the rest of my life...u get the picture...
GhostUser is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the VeggieBoards forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in


Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off