Opening a Vegan Cafe - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 09-08-2005, 05:49 AM
Veggie Regular

I work as a receptionist in a bank (for the summer break) and a couple of months ago, a lady came in looking for a business loan. I got talking to her in reception, and she told me she was starting up a vegan cafe. Having never met a vegan before, I gave her my number and said Id love to get involved in the project.

Apparently her business plan was perfect, it is a gap-in-the-market for our area and she got the loan. Now she has premises and is building up a good network of suppliers. I study marketing and advertising at university, so I designed her a (bloody good, if I do say so myself) logo and shop sign. My dad knows someone who makes shop signs, so I got her discount on that, and because my dad owns a timber merchants, he helped with the shop fitting (I think he was just glad I found a vegan friend because Im always complaining I have none)and gave her loads of discounts.

I helped her put together a menu, suggested, a Smoothie and Juice bar and generally put forward my ideas and some recipes. I never expected anything back I was just glad to have met other vegans, and the project gave me something to be excited about.

This morning she came into the Bank and requested we get a meeting room together. She then proceeded to pull contracts out of her bag that would give me a 2.5% share of the business. She said shes so grateful for what I have done and loves my enthusiasm and wouldnt have been able to do it without me. She was in a rush and just left me with a pile of papers.