Are Smarties Nestle Suitable for Vegetarians? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 
 4Likes
  • 3 Post By silva
  • 1 Post By skinnieminnie
 
Thread Tools
#1 Old 12-26-2015, 10:31 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 451
Are Smarties Nestle Suitable for Vegetarians?

Are Smarties Nestle Suitable for Vegetarians?
Liquinn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 12-26-2015, 11:48 AM
Veggie Regular
 
odizzido's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 727
odizzido is offline  
#3 Old 12-27-2015, 07:36 AM
Fellow Hummusapian
 
skinnieminnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: ColoRADo
Posts: 97
Last time I checked, they were certified vegan.

I believe their site has an entire section stating so.
skinnieminnie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#4 Old 12-27-2015, 08:38 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 451
Quote:
Originally Posted by skinnieminnie View Post
Last time I checked, they were certified vegan.

I believe their site has an entire section stating so.
These? https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=sm...4zna6ICQz2M%3A
Liquinn is offline  
#5 Old 12-27-2015, 08:45 AM
Super Moderator
 
silva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 8,949
It's far easier to send an email to the company than to ask here.
Products are different in other companies.
One I stood looking at two packages of Knorr vegetable boullion cubes, one in each hand. Left hand was vegan, right hand had dairy. Other than that they were identical other than finding the right hand was made in Mexico and left was made in the states
silva is offline  
#6 Old 12-27-2015, 09:04 AM
...
 
Blobbenstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 3,936
Quote:
Originally Posted by skinnieminnie View Post
Last time I checked, they were certified vegan.

I believe their site has an entire section stating so.
no these are UK Smarties.....they contain dairy..so not vegan.

Blobbenstein is offline  
#7 Old 12-27-2015, 09:07 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 451
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blobbenstein View Post
no these are UK Smarties.....they contain dairy..so not vegan.
Are they vegatarian?
Liquinn is offline  
#8 Old 12-27-2015, 09:10 AM
Fellow Hummusapian
 
skinnieminnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: ColoRADo
Posts: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blobbenstein View Post
no these are UK Smarties.....they contain dairy..so not vegan.
Yeah, I didn't realize OP was from the UK. They are in the US, which is why I buy them for trick-or-treaters.
LedBoots likes this.
skinnieminnie is offline  
#9 Old 12-27-2015, 09:14 AM
...
 
Blobbenstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 3,936
Quote:
Originally Posted by Liquinn View Post
Are they vegatarian?

they are probably not technically vegetarian, as the whey in them might have come from cheese making that used (animal) rennet....that is true of a lot of chocolate, I think.

Blobbenstein is offline  
#10 Old 12-27-2015, 09:18 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 451
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blobbenstein View Post
they are probably not technically vegetarian, as the whey in them might have come from cheese making that used (animal) rennet....that is true of a lot of chocolate, I think.
Damn. Where can I buy vegan marshmallows in the UK? Sainsburies, Tesco or co-op?
Liquinn is offline  
#11 Old 12-27-2015, 10:06 AM
Super Moderator
 
silva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 8,949
Quote:
Originally Posted by Liquinn View Post
Are they vegatarian?
All you need to do is go to a companies website, look under "contact us" and send an email asking them about their product.
silva is offline  
#12 Old 12-29-2015, 10:22 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 451
Smarties said that they're ok to eat.
Liquinn is offline  
#13 Old 01-10-2019, 08:35 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 1
Nestle confirmed that they use the colour from a red beetle to make the red and pink colouring.

Nestle have also published a list of vegetarian products, downloadable from their website, ans smarties is not on the list.
mhusnat is offline  
#14 Old 01-10-2019, 11:51 AM
Vegan since 1991
 
David3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 3,649
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhusnat View Post
Nestle confirmed that they use the colour from a red beetle to make the red and pink colouring.

Nestle have also published a list of vegetarian products, downloadable from their website, ans smarties is not on the list.

True, Smarties are not included on Nestle UK's list of vegetarian-suitable products: https://www.nestle.co.uk/asset-libra...ian%20list.pdf
.

_________

Specific recommendations for a healthy diet include: eating more fruit, vegetables, legumes, nuts and grains; cutting down on salt, sugar and fats. It is also advisable to choose unsaturated fats, instead of saturated fats and towards the elimination of trans-fatty acids."
- United Nations' World Health Organization
http://www.who.int/topics/diet/en/
David3 is offline  
#15 Old 01-12-2019, 02:46 PM
Super Moderator
 
silva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 8,949
Well this kinda shook me up, as the little rolls of Smarties were always a Halloween favorite of mine!--In the US!
We have these, and they've always been vegan-
https://www.smarties.com/our-candy

Don't let the perfect be the enemy of the good
silva is offline  
#16 Old 03-09-2019, 07:25 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 5
They are vegetarian — vegan, in fact — and many members of the executive board of the company are vegan, including vice president Liz Dee, who is also a passionate vegan activist.
nateboussad is offline  
#17 Old 03-09-2019, 08:49 AM
Vegan since 1991
 
David3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 3,649
Quote:
Originally Posted by nateboussad View Post
They are vegetarian — vegan, in fact — and many members of the executive board of the company are vegan, including vice president Liz Dee, who is also a passionate vegan activist.



Nestle Smarties (sold in the UK) are not vegan. They contain dairy milk and butterfat: http://www.nestle-family.com/smartie...te_242144.aspx


I think you are referring to North American Smarties candy, made by the Smarties Candy Company: https://www.smarties.com/our-candy/ . These are vegan.
.

_________

Specific recommendations for a healthy diet include: eating more fruit, vegetables, legumes, nuts and grains; cutting down on salt, sugar and fats. It is also advisable to choose unsaturated fats, instead of saturated fats and towards the elimination of trans-fatty acids."
- United Nations' World Health Organization
http://www.who.int/topics/diet/en/
David3 is offline  
#18 Old 03-17-2019, 10:38 AM
THH
Newbie
 
THH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Liquinn View Post
Smarties said that they're ok to eat.

Whenever I want to know whether something is eatable or not, I call the company and ask them if their product contains any ingredients of animal source, as my child is highly allergic against all kind of animal stuff. In no time I get the correct answer.

Later a friend of mine calls them and asks the same procuct for animal ingredients, because of religious or vegan reason. In almost all cases she got a different answer to the one I got.

I love everything about health and I love
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
THH is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the VeggieBoards forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in


Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off