• 3 Post By Naturebound
  • 2 Post By no whey jose
  • 2 Post By Muttley
  • 2 Post By Beetroot Me
  • 2 Post By Muttley

#1 Old 12-15-2015, 10:42 AM

Vegan to Vegetarian and mental health

Hello dear Veggies!

I came here looking for support and hopefully to know if anyone went through what I'm going through. This didn't go that well in a different vegan forum, so please be gentle ^_^

I studied veganism for half a year before deciding to fully embrace it but I was surprised by what I felt. There are still aspects of it that I don't agree with and a few others I'm not sure and because of it I never had the intention to call myself vegan even though I lived like one. But... the diet aspect of it made feel really uncomfortable. I was always healthy and had a good approach to food, but I am an anxious person since a child and tend to obsess over things and I guess that this aspect of my personality was exacerbated by the restrictions veganism implies. After a "honeymoon" couple of months I started to wake up with this knot on my chest, feel super anxious every time I had to shop for food, obsess with food labels, eating out and the possibility of making a mistake made me avoid it totally... I ate well and a lot, but when anxious I tend to lose weight and I am already small and thin so it became a problem. But anxiety and how I started to relate to food was the real problem.