Vegetarian Foods and milk products - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
#1 Old 08-04-2004, 08:31 PM
Beginner
 
boquist1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 114
Hi there,



For those that I have not had the opportunity to meet in this veggie heaven, I am John and I run Fantastic Foods, a longtime vegetarian food company. www.fantasticfoods.com (shameless promotion, sorry couldn't resist ) Anyway reason for this post is to ask a question that has been bugging me for a long time, and we occasionally get a call from a consumer confused about this issue. This is a highly veggie educated group, so you will skew results compared to asking this question of a broader public, but still am interested in your thoughts. Your participation is greatly appreciated. Thank you!!!!



John
boquist1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 08-04-2004, 08:32 PM
Banned
 
Artichoke47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,903
What question do you have?
Artichoke47 is offline  
#3 Old 08-04-2004, 08:33 PM
Banned
 
Artichoke47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,903
Oh, and when you say "milk products," please specify cow, goat, oat, soy, rice, almond, et cetera, because it gets confusing to some people, including me.
Artichoke47 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#4 Old 08-04-2004, 08:40 PM
Beginner
 
boquist1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Artichoke47 View Post

Oh, and when you say "milk products," please specify cow, goat, oat, soy, rice, almond, et cetera, because it gets confusing to some people, including me.





I was too lame and got timed out in setting up the poll. Darn, back to the techno board. Basically the question is this...



When I see a product labeled as "Vegetarian", I automatically assume that...



(1) It does not contain any animal milk products of any kind



(2) It does contain animal milk products unless I also see "Vegan" clearly posted on the label



(3) I never assume anything until I read the detail in the ingredient statement



(4) I don't care because I am a lacto vegetarian



Thanks



John
boquist1 is offline  
#5 Old 08-04-2004, 08:43 PM
Banned
 
Artichoke47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,903
Well, I'm at a cross between 2 and 3, because if I see "vegan," I'm happy and think it PROBABLY doesn't have animal milk in it, but I still check the ingredients to make sure.



And the reason I would assume that it had animal milk in it is because someone went out of their way to label it "vegetarian" but not "vegan," unless it was labeled as both.
Artichoke47 is offline  
#6 Old 08-04-2004, 08:46 PM
Veggie Regular
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6,887
"(3) I never assume anything until I read the detail in the ingredient statement" <<<<<<<<<<<almost true:



I usually don't make assumptions, but sometimes I do, if I am tired or lazy.

http://bringingyouohm.wordpress.com/

Lokah Samastah Sukhino Bhavanto

'May everyone everywhere be happy
May the whole world be joyous'
synergy is offline  
#7 Old 08-04-2004, 08:46 PM
Banned
 
Artichoke47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,903
I bet one of the moderators or Michael can set the poll up for you. That would make the results much easier to read.
Artichoke47 is offline  
#8 Old 08-04-2004, 09:05 PM
Veggie Regular
 
ynaffit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 5,058
i am also a mix of 2 and 3.
ynaffit is offline  
#9 Old 08-04-2004, 09:22 PM
Veggie Regular
 
colorful's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,164
I would say both 2 and 3...so many veggie burgers etc. have dairy and egg products I always will read the labels.



BTW I love the Fantastic Foods dry soup cups, like the split pea and black bean...those are great!
colorful is offline  
#10 Old 08-04-2004, 09:30 PM
Administrator
 
Michael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 19,873
When I see a product labeled as "Vegetarian", I automatically assume that...



(4) I don't care because I am a lacto vegetarian

VeggieBoards Alumni Facebook Group

If you're an old time VB'er stop by and say hi!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Michael is offline  
#11 Old 08-04-2004, 09:30 PM
Administrator
 
Michael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 19,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by Artichoke47 View Post

I bet one of the moderators or Michael can set the poll up for you. That would make the results much easier to read.



Yeah, I would have but people have already replied and John's not on for me to ask him.

VeggieBoards Alumni Facebook Group

If you're an old time VB'er stop by and say hi!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Michael is offline  
#12 Old 08-04-2004, 09:35 PM
Veggie Regular
 
kpickell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 16,090
2 and 3
kpickell is offline  
#13 Old 08-04-2004, 09:37 PM
Veggie Regular
 
MeatIsMurder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 319
2 & 3 for me as well!
MeatIsMurder is offline  
#14 Old 08-04-2004, 09:47 PM
Veggie Regular
 
JavaPrincess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 668
(4) I don't care because I am a lacto vegetarian
JavaPrincess is offline  
#15 Old 08-04-2004, 09:56 PM
Veggie Regular
 
tearhsong2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,874
#4
tearhsong2 is offline  
#16 Old 08-04-2004, 09:59 PM
Veggie Regular
 
Cissy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 11,759
(2) It does contain animal milk products unless I also see "Vegan" clearly posted on the label



(3) I never assume anything until I read the detail in the ingredient statement
Cissy is offline  
#17 Old 08-04-2004, 10:19 PM
Veggie Regular
 
Vicky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 4,614
((3)) i always see "vegetarian" on your products, but when i look at the ingrediets a lot of times i see no animal products ... so i buy them
Vicky is offline  
#18 Old 08-04-2004, 10:27 PM
Veggie Regular
 
Wanda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 470
Also a combination of 2 and 3.

If it's marked 'vegetarian', I expect to find some dairy, eggs or honey in it.

But even if it's marked 'vegan' I will read the label, because I like to know what I put in my body.



By the way John, could your company please make some 'low sodium' products.

(Or maybe make a batch without salt and send it to me????)
Wanda is offline  
#19 Old 08-04-2004, 10:28 PM
Veggie Regular
 
froggythefrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,260
(2 and 3) I read labels before I make any assumptions: I assume that a product labeled vegetarian might contain milk, eggs, honey, or any number of additives which are not vegan.



I really appreciate it when I see a product labeled vegan and feel motivated to buy it. Even though I am lacto-ovo, I really do appreciate it when companies decide to make their products 100% animal-free.



By the way, I also assume that Vegan means no testing on animals, no animal products used during processing -- ie., juices clarified with gelatin.



Another interesting note: If it's not labeled vegan, maybe there's an animal product in there that I am not familiar with yet. On a more curious day, I might research any unknown ingredients on the web.
froggythefrog is offline  
#20 Old 08-04-2004, 10:41 PM
Newbie
 
earth_shadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 9
If it says Vegetarian I assume that it has milk, eggs or honey.

Whether it say, Vegan or Vegetarian I ussually check the ingredient.



I second the low sodium idea.



I would like to compliment you on your great products and customer service.
earth_shadow is offline  
#21 Old 08-04-2004, 10:46 PM
Beginner
 
veg*nfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 196
2 and 3 combo.
veg*nfrog is offline  
#22 Old 08-05-2004, 07:09 AM
Newbie
 
kokopelli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 36
3.



I love your falafel mix.
kokopelli is offline  
#23 Old 08-05-2004, 07:45 AM
Veggie Regular
 
mayuko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 5,026
2 + 3, generally. i always check the ingredients list, even if it's something i've eaten for years -- it's just a habit
mayuko is offline  
#24 Old 08-05-2004, 08:35 AM
Veggie Regular
 
rabid_child's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 12,282
2 and 3.



I assume vegetarian means its may contain dairy/egg products/derivitives. I do also read labels of everything I haven't bought before out of habit.

http://megatarian.blogspot.com
rabid_child is offline  
#25 Old 08-05-2004, 08:37 AM
Beginner
 
MnVeggie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 183
(3). If it's not a company I trust or know and I see "vegetarian," I check to see if it really is vegetarian. I'm not vegan, so I don't check that. If it's a company I trust and I see "vegetarian," I don't assume it's vegan or not, because I think maybe companies might label "vegetarian" even if it's vegan too so as to appeal to nonvegetarians for health reasons who might think "vegan" sounds scary and/or unfamiliar.
MnVeggie is offline  
#26 Old 08-05-2004, 08:40 AM
Newbie
 
bible3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 89
well milk products only come from animals, noit plants
bible3000 is offline  
#27 Old 08-05-2004, 08:51 AM
Banned
 
Artichoke47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,903
No, there is soy milk, rice milk, oat milk, almond milk, and probably a few others I'm not thinking of.
Artichoke47 is offline  
#28 Old 08-05-2004, 09:45 AM
Veggie Regular
 
bethann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 683
I assume vegetarian means nothing from a dead animal: meat, broth, geletin, etc.



The vegan lable I trust from certain suppliers, having checked their products in the past, like Trader Joes, Whole Foods, but at a restaurant or my local grocery store I double check.
bethann is offline  
#29 Old 08-05-2004, 09:51 AM
Veggie Regular
 
bethanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 4,914
Quote:
Originally Posted by boquist1 View Post

I was too lame and got timed out in setting up the poll. Darn, back to the techno board. Basically the question is this...



When I see a product labeled as "Vegetarian", I automatically assume that...



(1) It does not contain any animal milk products of any kind



(2) It does contain animal milk products unless I also see "Vegan" clearly posted on the label



(3) I never assume anything until I read the detail in the ingredient statement



(4) I don't care because I am a lacto vegetarian



Thanks





John



vegan to me means absolutely no animal products including eggs/honey or dairy



Vegetarian may contain both eggs and milk.



When I was vegan, I always read the labels to make sure...unless something was marked as vegan. And then I assumed it was.



BTW, I am a big fan of both your falafel mix and your hummus...oh and your scrambler. My daughter loves the sloppy joe mix (and she's an omni who's picky about pretend meat products).



Thanks for posting here. You have an awesome company which I'm sure you are proud of.



B
bethanie is offline  
#30 Old 08-05-2004, 10:01 AM
Newbie
 
GhostUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by boquist1 View Post

I was too lame and got timed out in setting up the poll. Darn, back to the techno board. Basically the question is this...



When I see a product labeled as "Vegetarian", I automatically assume that...



...

(2) It does contain animal milk products unless I also see "Vegan" clearly posted on the label



I like your mixes as a cheap means of backcamping food Those speciality camping packs are a lot of money!! If you could make a few instant meals in a box, you would be my hero for life and I would be willing to give you one of the children in my home as payment.
GhostUser is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the VeggieBoards forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in


Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off