• 1 Post By RiggerBoots
  • 2 Post By Spudulika
  • 2 Post By veganjoy
  • 2 Post By RiggerBoots
  • 1 Post By erilol
  • 1 Post By silva

#1 Old 03-21-2015, 05:01 PM

My stepdaughter and meat!!

Hello! I'm new to the message boards. After today I knew I needed to find a supportive place and VENT! Let me start off by saying that I have been vegetarian for almost 5 years and am now transitioning into veganism. I have three children living with me. Two are my own and have chose to be vegetarian and have been for a year now.. the other is my stepdaughter who chose that she did not want to be vegetarian. We don't buy meat or have it in our home but when she goes to a Grandparents house or somewhere else she will eat meat if they have it. So tonight my daughter and I were having a conversation about meat and I decided to ask my stepdaughter why she chooses to eat meat after she knows what happens to the animals. She is only 8. She says "well they just taste so yummy." She wasn't saying it to be smart. So then I said.. some countries even eat cats and dogs. Would you eat a cat or dog? She says "no because they are so cute." So then I say.. "a cow is not cute? a pig? a chicken?" she says "i like all animals". I just don't understand.
Jasminedesi16 likes this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 03-21-2015, 05:37 PM
Veggie Regular

I understand it can be frustrating watching people eat meat, but there's really not much more you can do in that situation. She already eats vegetarian at home. Has she been near cows and pigs before? If not, take her on a trip to a farm sanctuary if you can. Maybe being closer to them would make her see those animals as cute as well.
Also, remember that when you were her age you ate meat and your reasons for doing so were probably also because it tastes good. Maybe she'll come around someday too.