Kosher Meats. - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
#1 Old 05-28-2004, 06:15 PM
Veggie Regular
 
Formerbaboon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 6,201
My dad stumbled across this website last night. Its all about Kosher meats and stuff. I had no idea that the Jewish religion was so restrictive. Its in the bible, so I can't argue.



http://www.larombible.com/no_pigs_no_lard.htm
Formerbaboon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 05-28-2004, 06:20 PM
Veggie Regular
 
bluegrrrl79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,671
Yeah. Many jewish people don't keep kosher, mainly just the very religious ones.
bluegrrrl79 is offline  
#3 Old 05-28-2004, 06:28 PM
Veggie Regular
 
raylea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 248
I'm Jewish, and I know very few who strictly follow pareve. It's a big hassle to have to use seperate plates and silverware for meat and dairy dishes, and trying to go out to eat is also very difficult.
raylea is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#4 Old 05-28-2004, 06:30 PM
Veggie Regular
 
Formerbaboon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 6,201
The same can be said for vegans (like me).
Formerbaboon is offline  
#5 Old 05-28-2004, 07:09 PM
Veggie Regular
 
mosquito's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 859
I've heard many who keep Kosher are also vegan, because if something is vegan it is automatically Kosher, so it's a little simpler. I don't know if it's true or not. BTW, speaking of dietary laws, does anyone know what Halal is?
mosquito is offline  
#6 Old 05-29-2004, 04:48 AM
Veggie Regular
 
Loki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 4,211
I have jewish relatives. Apparently, they like bacon quite a lot. They'r enot really religious, although when I was last visiting them, I noticed an Israeli flag and a Menorah on their desk.
Loki is offline  
#7 Old 05-29-2004, 05:04 AM
Newbie
 
GhostUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by raylea View Post

I'm Jewish, and I know very few who strictly follow pareve. It's a big hassle to have to use seperate plates and silverware for meat and dairy dishes, and trying to go out to eat is also very difficult.



Pareve means no dairy or meat. But it is not necessarily vegetarian, because fish - those who are kosher - and eggs, and derivatives, qualify.
GhostUser is offline  
#8 Old 05-29-2004, 05:08 AM
Newbie
 
GhostUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by raylea View Post

I'm Jewish, and I know very few who strictly follow pareve. It's a big hassle to have to use seperate plates and silverware for meat and dairy dishes, and trying to go out to eat is also very difficult.



Pareve means no dairy or meat. But it is not necessarily vegetarian, because kosher fish qualifies as pareve.
GhostUser is offline  
#9 Old 05-29-2004, 06:32 AM
Newbie
 
yumhummus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 81
It has been thought that Kosher cheeses are vegetarian, since meat and dairy cannot be combined in Pareve foods. However, apparantly many Rabbis do not consider the rennet and calves stomach digest to be the flesh of the animal, but simply by-products, and have still deemed cheeses containing these ingredients, "kosher."



Recently the subject of humane animal slaughter was discussed on another board. It was the general opinion of one poster that meat labeled "Kosher" was synonymous with humanely slaughtered. Then this article by John Robbins was presented that suggested that Kosher slaughter was even MORE INHUMANE for the animal in its final moments, because it is hung upside down in the air, so as not to touch the ground, and remain "clean," and that the animal is not stunned first so that it is moving about, and completely alive until the time of death.

http://www.meat.org/kosher.htm
yumhummus is offline  
#10 Old 05-29-2004, 11:46 AM
Veggie Regular
 
bluegrrrl79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,671
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin View Post

Pareve means no dairy or meat. But it is not necessarily vegetarian, because kosher fish qualifies as pareve.

True. I do like how there's a whole kosher section in my grocery store though, cause a lot of things there are vegetarian and dairy free. Parve minestrone soups are yummy (I hate how regular soups always use beef stock!). But yeah, gotta watch for the fish, and eggs if you avoid them. I'm jewish by the way, I never kept kosher though.
bluegrrrl79 is offline  
#11 Old 05-29-2004, 01:11 PM
Veggie Regular
 
misq17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 5,982
My family keeps kosher mostly although we will eat at restaurants. My mom won't eat or buy cheese or meat unless it is certified kosher but my dad and brother will eat non-kosher cheese out of the house. None of them will eat non-kosher meat.
misq17 is offline  
#12 Old 05-29-2004, 02:54 PM
Veggie Regular
 
1vegan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 8,440
Quote:
Originally Posted by mosquito View Post

speaking of dietary laws, does anyone know what Halal is?



Halal is, roughly translated, the islamic version of kosher.



No pork meat is one that I know of, and the special slaughter rules so the sheep bleed as empty as possible.
1vegan is offline  
#13 Old 05-29-2004, 03:00 PM
Veggie Regular
 
1vegan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 8,440
Quote:
Originally Posted by mosquito View Post

I've heard many who keep Kosher are also vegan, because if something is vegan it is automatically Kosher, so it's a little simpler.



I think you are right on the first, but I have doubts on the second.



I thought that kosher also involves tools and kitchen utencils?



So if a producer made vegan cookies on the same machines as dairy cookies would the vegan cookies be kosher ?
1vegan is offline  
#14 Old 05-29-2004, 03:20 PM
Veggie Regular
 
bluegrrrl79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,671
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1vegan View Post

I think you are right on the first, but I have doubts on the second.



I thought that kosher also involves tools and kitchen utencils?



So if a producer made vegan cookies on the same machines as dairy cookies would the vegan cookies be kosher ?

It could say kosher, but it would have to have a "D" next to it. To be "parve" (no meat no dairy), it has to be on machinery that's touched neither. Remember, kosher and parve have two different meanings.
bluegrrrl79 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the VeggieBoards forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in


Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off