General Ponderings - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 01-13-2014, 05:34 PM

Hi Room,

I am a new member here, been veggie for a year, tried rawism/veganism and just didn't get it right which had detrimental affects to my health. My ethics and spiritualism however, are urging me to take the rawism/vegan pathway again.

However I still feel I am in the transitional period. Not in the sense that I am struggling to adapt to not eating meat. But I feel I am ignorant of mundane everyday things like soaps etc that I am using that contain animal fats. I feel like I havent fully embraced the vegetarian lifestyle and I am still learning.

I am at a stage in my life where I feel so much cruelty is endured and I need to make that transition to a plant based whole foods diet and lifestyle quicker, because of how strong my beliefs are becoming. I just dont feel I am equipped with the knowledge to be able to be healthy and be vegan. By that I mean, not just eating the same 3 meals day in day out.

I have just watched the documentary "Vegucated" and found myself in floods of tears and feeling angry towards myself for not making more of an effort to, not only help myself, health wise but help the environment. Yes I may be only one person, but if one person a day took on this principle then the chain reaction may make a difference to the environment.

I also find it very hard financially. In the UK it is very expensive to eat healthy and support local produce, if anyone has any ideas of how I can make it more financially viable let me know.

Anyway, that is my ramblings for this evening.

Speak soon

Nat

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 01-13-2014, 06:14 PM
Veggie Regular

Remember to be gentle with yourself. By not eating animal products, you are already making a huge difference for the animals. Using non vegan soap doesn't make that accomplishment less awesome.