kosher gelatin - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
#1 Old 04-18-2004, 10:12 AM
Veggie Regular
 
raylea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 248
Quote:
In practice, kosher gelatin is usually made of agar-agar - a plant (seaweed) derivative.

http://ohr.edu/ask_db/ask_main.php/127/Q1/



Quote:
Most kosher gelatins are also vegetarian.

http://www.ochef.com/199.htm



Does this mean that kosher gelatin is vegetarian?



If this is true... than Moon Pies are vegan
raylea is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 04-18-2004, 10:17 AM
Veggie Regular
 
kpickell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 16,090
Kosher gelatin means non-pork gelatin. It could still be beef gelatin. You won't know unless it says.
kpickell is offline  
#3 Old 04-18-2004, 11:58 AM
 
IamJen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 19,134
I've not yet found a product in my HFS with kosher gelatin that is vegetarian. As mentioned, it would be non-pork gelatin, but it's mostly to do with how the animal is killed/prepared - that is, does the process follow Jewish dietary laws.

The ones I pity are the ones who never stick out their neck for something they believe, never know the taste of moral struggle, and never have the thrill of victory. - Jonathan Kozol
IamJen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#4 Old 04-18-2004, 12:22 PM
Veggie Regular
 
Loki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 4,211
Wouldn't the ingredients list on the side of the kosher gelatin explain what was in it?
Loki is offline  
#5 Old 04-18-2004, 12:27 PM
Veggie Regular
 
kpickell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 16,090
Sometimes. But not when it's an ingredient in something like Moon Pies.
kpickell is offline  
#6 Old 04-18-2004, 12:51 PM
Veggie Regular
 
froggythefrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,260
Kosher gelatin is pareve, which simply means that it is so removed from the animal that it is no longer considered an animal product. This means it can be agar agar, beef, etc.
froggythefrog is offline  
#7 Old 04-18-2004, 01:49 PM
Veggie Regular
 
tearhsong2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,874
Kosher gelatin could be beef gelatin or fish gelatin--all it means is that it's not from pork and that it's so processed that it's not considered an animal byproduct anymore.
tearhsong2 is offline  
#8 Old 04-18-2004, 03:01 PM
Veggie Regular
 
Loki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 4,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by kpickell View Post

Sometimes. But not when it's an ingredient in something like Moon Pies.



Ah, the ingredients list says "kosher gelatin". Ouch! I guess it's one of those circumstances where one must contact the manufacturers.
Loki is offline  
#9 Old 04-18-2004, 05:28 PM
Veggie Regular
 
raylea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 248
Does anyone (other than me) care so much about Moon Pies that I should contact them??
raylea is offline  
#10 Old 04-18-2004, 05:37 PM
Veggie Regular
 
Neta558's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 548
Quote:
Originally Posted by raylea View Post

Does anyone (other than me) care so much about Moon Pies that I should contact them??



No need, Gelatin is always from animals, or it has a different name.

Kosher Gelatin is probably from fish so it can be used with milk products.

Boxes of fish gelatin usually has big statment of "kosher gelatin" on them, and that's probably the meaning in "moon pies" too, whatever it is..
Neta558 is offline  
#11 Old 04-18-2004, 07:54 PM
 
IamJen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 19,134
http://www.kosherquest.org/bookhtml/MARSHMALLOWS.htm

The ones I pity are the ones who never stick out their neck for something they believe, never know the taste of moral struggle, and never have the thrill of victory. - Jonathan Kozol
IamJen is offline  
#12 Old 04-20-2004, 04:45 PM
Veggie Regular
 
raylea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 248
I emailed... and, unfortunately, it is from an animal source No Moon Pies for me... (on second thought, that could be a good idea!)
raylea is offline  
#13 Old 04-20-2004, 08:33 PM
 
IamJen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 19,134
I could moon you while eating some pie...would that help?



PS - Dutch Apple is my favorite.

The ones I pity are the ones who never stick out their neck for something they believe, never know the taste of moral struggle, and never have the thrill of victory. - Jonathan Kozol
IamJen is offline  
#14 Old 04-21-2004, 04:21 AM
Veggie Regular
 
Fenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 452
The gelatin used to make Count Chocula marshmallows comes from pig skin.
Fenguin is offline  
#15 Old 04-21-2004, 09:16 PM
Veggie Regular
 
raylea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by IamJen View Post

I could moon you while eating some pie...would that help?



PS - Dutch Apple is my favorite.



Is that supposed to sound so dirty?
raylea is offline  
#16 Old 04-29-2005, 10:43 AM
Veggie Regular
 
colorful's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,164
Dannon yogurt was on sale for a super deal last night, so I bought some. This morning while we were eating it, my husband noticed that "kosher gelatin" is in the ingredient list. Has anyone ever found out whether Dannon yogurt is vegetarian?



Thanks!
colorful is offline  
#17 Old 04-29-2005, 10:44 AM
Banned
 
bstutzma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,535
I'm pretty sure it isn't.
bstutzma is offline  
#18 Old 04-29-2005, 10:45 AM
Banned
 
FreshTart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 4,674
Some are, some aren't. Assume not.
FreshTart is offline  
#19 Old 04-29-2005, 11:07 AM
Veggie Regular
 
vggiegirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 4,929
It's not Dannon used to make their fruit on the bottom yoghurts with fruit pectin and moved to gelatin. Jerks.
vggiegirl is offline  
#20 Old 04-29-2005, 11:52 AM
Veggie Regular
 
rainbow_clouds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 4,579
gelatin is always derived from an animal otherwise it's called something else.
rainbow_clouds is offline  
#21 Old 05-01-2005, 05:49 AM
Newbie
 
vegagitator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 12
Kojel and Emes' "gelatins" are made with carageenan and vegan (careful, they may make non-vegan ones too). Hain Superfruit dessert jel is vegan too. Pangea Vegan Products has their own brand of VeganSweets dessert Jel mix.
vegagitator is offline  
#22 Old 05-01-2005, 06:11 AM
Newbie
 
vegagitator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 12
It won't let me post a link. I found a recipe for Moon Pies on All Recipes. It was under sandwich cookies, under filled cookies, under (duh) cookies. There are probably some other comprable recipes on the site too. I think you could veganize it fairly easily with some egg replacer and soy milk (sour it with a tiny bit of lemon juice or vinegar for "buttermilk"). Earth Balance and Spectrum make non-hydrogenated shortening made from Palm oil.
vegagitator is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the VeggieBoards forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in


Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off