VeggieBoards

VeggieBoards (https://www.veggieboards.com/forum/)
-   Vegetarian Support Forum (https://www.veggieboards.com/forum/11-vegetarian-support-forum/)
-   -   kosher gelatin (https://www.veggieboards.com/forum/11-vegetarian-support-forum/14341-kosher-gelatin.html)

raylea 04-18-2004 10:12 AM

Quote:
In practice, kosher gelatin is usually made of agar-agar - a plant (seaweed) derivative.

http://ohr.edu/ask_db/ask_main.php/127/Q1/



Quote:
Most kosher gelatins are also vegetarian.

http://www.ochef.com/199.htm



Does this mean that kosher gelatin is vegetarian?



If this is true... than Moon Pies are vegan

kpickell 04-18-2004 10:17 AM

Kosher gelatin means non-pork gelatin. It could still be beef gelatin. You won't know unless it says.

IamJen 04-18-2004 11:58 AM

I've not yet found a product in my HFS with kosher gelatin that is vegetarian. As mentioned, it would be non-pork gelatin, but it's mostly to do with how the animal is killed/prepared - that is, does the process follow Jewish dietary laws.

Loki 04-18-2004 12:22 PM

Wouldn't the ingredients list on the side of the kosher gelatin explain what was in it?

kpickell 04-18-2004 12:27 PM

Sometimes. But not when it's an ingredient in something like Moon Pies.

froggythefrog 04-18-2004 12:51 PM

Kosher gelatin is pareve, which simply means that it is so removed from the animal that it is no longer considered an animal product. This means it can be agar agar, beef, etc.

tearhsong2 04-18-2004 01:49 PM

Kosher gelatin could be beef gelatin or fish gelatin--all it means is that it's not from pork and that it's so processed that it's not considered an animal byproduct anymore.

Loki 04-18-2004 03:01 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by kpickell View Post

Sometimes. But not when it's an ingredient in something like Moon Pies.



Ah, the ingredients list says "kosher gelatin". Ouch! I guess it's one of those circumstances where one must contact the manufacturers.

raylea 04-18-2004 05:28 PM

Does anyone (other than me) care so much about Moon Pies that I should contact them??

Neta558 04-18-2004 05:37 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by raylea View Post

Does anyone (other than me) care so much about Moon Pies that I should contact them??



No need, Gelatin is always from animals, or it has a different name.

Kosher Gelatin is probably from fish so it can be used with milk products.

Boxes of fish gelatin usually has big statment of "kosher gelatin" on them, and that's probably the meaning in "moon pies" too, whatever it is..

IamJen 04-18-2004 07:54 PM


raylea 04-20-2004 04:45 PM

I emailed... and, unfortunately, it is from an animal source No Moon Pies for me... (on second thought, that could be a good idea!)

IamJen 04-20-2004 08:33 PM

I could moon you while eating some pie...would that help?



PS - Dutch Apple is my favorite.

Fenguin 04-21-2004 04:21 AM

The gelatin used to make Count Chocula marshmallows comes from pig skin.

raylea 04-21-2004 09:16 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by IamJen View Post

I could moon you while eating some pie...would that help?



PS - Dutch Apple is my favorite.



Is that supposed to sound so dirty?

colorful 04-29-2005 10:43 AM

Dannon yogurt was on sale for a super deal last night, so I bought some. This morning while we were eating it, my husband noticed that "kosher gelatin" is in the ingredient list. Has anyone ever found out whether Dannon yogurt is vegetarian?



Thanks!

bstutzma 04-29-2005 10:44 AM

I'm pretty sure it isn't.

FreshTart 04-29-2005 10:45 AM

Some are, some aren't. Assume not.

vggiegirl 04-29-2005 11:07 AM

It's not Dannon used to make their fruit on the bottom yoghurts with fruit pectin and moved to gelatin. Jerks.

rainbow_clouds 04-29-2005 11:52 AM

gelatin is always derived from an animal otherwise it's called something else.

vegagitator 05-01-2005 05:49 AM

Kojel and Emes' "gelatins" are made with carageenan and vegan (careful, they may make non-vegan ones too). Hain Superfruit dessert jel is vegan too. Pangea Vegan Products has their own brand of VeganSweets dessert Jel mix.

vegagitator 05-01-2005 06:11 AM

It won't let me post a link. I found a recipe for Moon Pies on All Recipes. It was under sandwich cookies, under filled cookies, under (duh) cookies. There are probably some other comprable recipes on the site too. I think you could veganize it fairly easily with some egg replacer and soy milk (sour it with a tiny bit of lemon juice or vinegar for "buttermilk"). Earth Balance and Spectrum make non-hydrogenated shortening made from Palm oil.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:29 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.