Don't know whether to stay vegetarian or not - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 08-01-2013, 01:54 PM

Okay, in my freshman year of college I went vegetarian, cold-turkey. It was something I'd wanted to do for a long time and I finally couldn't stand all the guilt I felt after eating meat. Now it's been a year and a half since I've eaten any meat. I've eaten relatively healthy foods I'd say, although I do have a tendency to be a "junk food vegetarian." But my actual meals are usually pretty healthy. But I have a very hard time staying full and I also have not stopped craving meat. I eat morningstar products all the time and I mean they're pretty dang good, but I'm still craving meat all the time. I'm also really bored with the things I'm eating. I try new recipes sometimes, but I'm a college student so I need quick and easy meals that I don't necessarily have to cook. Last year I had my own apartment so I could cook more, but this year I will be living on campus and I'll have a meal plan-that costs $1500-so I'm gonna have to eat in the cafeteria and stuff so I don't waste that money, and of course they have very limited vegetarian options. Eating at restaurants is also very hard because usually all I can get is a salad and one gets sick of salads eventually.

Besides the cravings, I'm also very frustrated and conflicted with myself every single day when I think about this. I'm frustrated with the same old food day in and day out, but then when I consider eating meat again I'm like 'no you can't do that you will be killing animals and you will be the biggest hypocrite' and i don't think i'd be able to live with the guilt. I mean if i was that guilty before i went vegetarian, i can't even imagine the guilt i'll feel once i've been vegetarian and start eating meat again. I just feel like I'll hate myself so much for it.