Sprouter for Sprouting Sprouts - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 01-09-2012, 02:36 AM

Hi all,

I am new here. This looks like a cool place.

I need your guidance folks and I hope I am posting this in the correct forum.

I am totally new to sprouting and don't know where to start.

Is this a good product to make say one plate of sprouts per day:

http://www.amazon.com/Victorio-VKP10...6101489&sr=8-1

I eat a lot and a big sprouter would come in handy.

Do any of you own a sprouter like the above?
Can one of those rinse the sprouts? Does it have the holes on the top? Or would you need a rinser, like a mason jar with the perforated cap?
How long do lentils sprout? A week?

Thanks for all your help and guidance. I really appreciate it. Happy new year!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 01-12-2012, 06:49 PM
Not such a Beginner ;)

That looks pretty cool, you could have 3 kinds of sprouts growing at once. I just use a big mason jar with a plastic mesh lid.
#3 Old 01-14-2012, 11:55 AM
Super Moderator

Hey! I have that!
I used to just use a glass jar with a cheesecloth and rubber band to strain, but when that one was on sale I figured, why not?
It isn't that it works any better, but I like it because it just more, efficient somehow. You pour the water in the top, it trickles down through the trays, really slowly, and collects in the bottom one. You could actually forget to dump the water, and it's still okay. I guess it does a better job because the water hydrates the seeds a better rate. Anyway, if you get in the habit ( I was!) you'll always have the right amount of fresh sprouts handy, because you can sprout different trays at intervals.
I do recommend.

I usually do alfafa, brocolli, and mung. The smaller take like four days, mung a week. I've never tried lentils.

Don't let the perfect be the enemy of the good
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#4 Old 01-14-2012, 11:56 AM
Super Moderator

Welcome!

#5 Old 01-14-2012, 03:33 PM
Beanitarian