This Is Not Easy - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 04-12-2010, 09:56 PM
Banned

What do feel about a man who has been vegetarian for about six months. He's married and his wife is not a vegetarian. They have two young children and he wants the whole family to beome vegetarian, but his wife is not there yet - although she may well beome a vegetarian. He cooks for himself, but his wife works at a demanding job, and so he is the primary preparer of meals for her and the children. He tries (and usually does) come up with creative vegetarian dishes that they all enjoy, but his wife says that he should not impose his convictions on the whole family all the time. So sometimes he will cook chicken or another non-veggie meal for them. He's not happy about this, but thinks this is a temporary thing and they will come round.

I'm a newbie posting with this dilemma. Don't know if I even have the right be here and to call myself a veggie since I sometimes cook meat. Of course the best outcome is that my wife comes to agree with me, but if not, I see tricky times ahead. Has anyone else been though this? What have you done?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 04-12-2010, 10:00 PM
Veggie Regular

Well I think you are doing the best you can, and I hope you stay strong. Contrary to what your wife thinks, you are not pushing anything on anyone. You're just trying to be consistent with your beliefs.

www.thesaucyvegan.com
#3 Old 04-12-2010, 10:00 PM
Veggie Regular

I am not married. Nor do I have a partner. But in cases like these I am under the current impression that I wouldn't compromise beyond allowing them to cook their own meals. They impose their convictions on you just as much as you impose yours on them, I think (someone might prove me wrong! I'm waiting!).

EDIT: In simple terms, I see it like this:

Man: I don't want to eat or cook meat.

Woman: I want you to eat or cook meat.

Woman: By not eating or cooking meat you are imposing on us.