Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Southern California
I don't consider caviar to be vegetarian because they came out a fish. Which is strange, because I eat eggs, and eggs are generally considered vegetarian, and they came out of chickens. It's a little confusing, I know. My recommendation: If you're not sure, just avoid it.
My sister once bought vegan caviar made out of seaweed. Since I never liked (real) caviar in the first place, I didn't much care for this stuff, either. I don't remember the name on the jar, but I think she found it at Whole Foods, for anyone who is interested.
*this space not for sale*