question (meat substitutes unethical)? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 01-03-2004, 12:12 AM

i've been veggie for about two months now. yay!

anyway, i've belonged to another forum for four years but just started posting in the veggie portion of the forum.

a poster brought up this: she says eating fake meat, like boca burgers/gardenburgers/etc., isn't ethical. she says it's just like eating meat ... that it's just a replica. we're not aruging about it or anything but i told her that since i'm new to vegetarianism that i choose to eat fake meat so i can get my proper protein intake.

what are everyone's views on fake meat being unethical to a veggie? just curious ...

btw, she's lacto-veggie. because of her religion, she drinks milk, but from farms that do not slaughter the cows after getting milk from them. (i cannot think right now in which religion holds the cow in high regard ... buddhism?)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 01-03-2004, 12:21 AM
Veggie Regular

I don't think there's anything ethically wrong with eating "fake meat" It isn't meat...if you chose to go veg*n for ethical reasons, but didn't mind the taste of meat...why wouldn't you eat them?

Haha, that being said, I don't eat them because they remind me of meat. I never really liked the taste of meat, and I have no desire to be reminded of the things I choose not to eat anymore. I will eat them if I visit my grandparents though...its just easier for them, but I would prefer not to have to eat it.
#3 Old 01-03-2004, 12:26 AM

right.

i think it has a lot to do with convenience, too, clairebear. (like with your grandparents.)

and i can totally see why veggies like you do not enjoy fake meat ... because you never enjoyed the taste of meat anyway. that makes total sense.

thanks for answering.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#4 Old 01-03-2004, 01:46 AM
Administrator