Being vegan surrounded by fake/"used to be" vegetarians - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 09-22-2009, 09:58 AM

I realize that this is probably another catharsis post, but it is something that really, really has been troubling me.

As I said on another thread, I've been vegan/vegetarian for 3/4 years now, committed to it for ethical and health reasons. It brings me a lot of joy, always finding new things, new foods to eat, meeting new people, plus having my body feel strong, healthy and cleansed. However...

I am currently a sophomore at a liberal art's school in Washington. It's obviously a pretty liberal place, and everyone is trying to do the new "cool" thing. Vegetarianism is on the list. I was under the assumption that there were a lot of dedicated vegetarians, unlike my school which had almost none. I was wrong and right: there were vegetarians, only kind of, not really vegetarians: People quickly switch over, do it for a couple months, acting so absolutely committed, then stop. Or else, they pretend to be vegetarian, claim they are even as they chow down on fish, and then go back to eating eat red meat and it is no surprise. Of course, there are definite committed veg*ns who are my friends, and I love them and they give me support. The others I am about to mention are not my close friends, but they still stick in my brain.