Originally Posted by LovelyPerv
Many food processors are very secretive about what their "special formula" is for their crap.
And, law allows that they can keep the exact ingredients a secret, but they must show that there are additional ingredients other than those listed by lumping them into a general category like "Artifical Flavors" "Natural Flavors"
Now then...some companies will tell you the ingredients if you ask, some will be vague like "Yes, it contains animal sourced ingredients," and some won't say anything at all because, well, it's their secret formula.
So, what are veg*ns to do?
My personal rule is this:
If "Natural Flavorings" is listed, and it's something that's supposed to taste like meat, milk, or eggs
...I assume the natural flavoring is...meat milk or eggs.
Example: Oranges and Cream Boxed Juice...vegan except for 'natural flavoring.' I assumed it may have had some dairy in it, esp since no other ingredient accounted for the "cream" part.
Another example: I bought several cans of "seasoned beans." They were vegan, but had "natural flavoring." I chanced it, opened one of the cans, and was faced with a chunk of pork. Yup...pork! I re-read the ingredients...but no mention of pork...just "Natural Flavoring."
The above falls under the category of Natural Flavoring in foods traditionally seasoned with animal products.
Soups, unfortunately, are traditionally made with meat stocks. So, natural flavoring in a soup may very well contain meat products...regardless of whether the soup has any meat in it.
Not all natural flavoring could be bad. You'll find it on some specialty vegan items, and some accidentally vegan items that are not something meant to be meaty...like, the lemon candies I'm eating...the natural flavoring is probably citrus based.
My advice, is to accept the fact that you're going to be surprised, you can't avoid it 100%, and just go with your gut feeling about a product. And stay away from canned "seasoned beans."