Originally Posted by Irizary
I think that you have a case that you're continually trying to prove against some vegans, and it's extremely divisive and overblown.
To the OP, reading all of those food packages can make your eyes cross sometimes and it can be very easy to miss an ingredient. The boy and I do it often enough. And we are both adamant label readers. But sometimes things **** up, you know? You didn't intend to eat non-vegan and no need to beat yourself up over an oversight.
I so agree with Poppy that these things tend to make you re-commit yourself and be more aware in the future.
My most recent faux pas a few months ago was buying non-vegan cheese. I was so excited to see a new brand of cheese that I completely forgot
to look at the ingredients. I just assumed it was vegan because I was looking for vegan cheese (durr). So I just grabbed the almond cheese version and bought additional ingredients to make vegan pizza for the boy because he misses pizza (and cheese) a lot. When the boy got home, I announced happily what we were to have for dinner and as he was checking out the [unopened] cheese package he said "uhoh". It had casein in it. So, we ate dinner sans cheese and I returned it the next day. I felt so stupid, but I got over it.
Anyway, I have tons of stories like that one, like how long it took me to realize that Junior Mints had gelatin in them. D'oh! It's crazy how much we [ab]use animals for food products!