or Connect
VeggieBoards › Forums › Vegan Forums › Vegan Support Forum › Dr. Pepper
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Dr. Pepper

post #1 of 25
Thread Starter 
Okay, so I emailed Dr. Pepper asking if they used sugar that is filtered through animal bi-products such as bone char. This was thier reply:

"December 31, 2007

Dear Mr.****:



Thank you for contacting us about Dr Pepper Regular. Your comments and

inquiries are appreciated because they provide valuable feedback about

our brands. There is no animal products or bi-products used in Dr.

Pepper products.



Cadbury Schweppes has been making great brands that people love for

more than 200 years. We are proud of our family of beverage and

confectionery products and are committed to providing a wide range of choices for

all individuals.



Thank you for taking the time to contact us. We hope that you will

continue to purchase and enjoy our products.



Sincerely,



Consumer Relations





010058110A"



What do you think? Safe? I really would like to know, because I LOVE dr. pepper.
post #2 of 25
According to Wikipedia, Dr. Pepper does not even use sugar anymore, but uses HFCS instead:



Quote:
Much of the soft drink industry in the United States stopped using sugar in the 1980s, in response to a series of price supports and import quotas introduced beginning in 1982 that increased the price of sugar above the global market price. As a result, most U.S. soft drinks, including Dr Pepper, now use high fructose corn syrup instead of sugar.
post #3 of 25
-sigh- Diet Dr. Pepper. One of my true food addictions. I TRY to stay away from it, but it's soooo good!
*this space not for sale*
Reply
*this space not for sale*
Reply
post #4 of 25
The sugar in most soft drinks is corn syrup. You have to look far and pay much to get anything else. It's vegan but it's really bad for you.
post #5 of 25
I've never even tried Dr. Pepper. I don't think I'll start though.
post #6 of 25
I hate high fructose corn syrup. I refuse to eat anything made with it.
post #7 of 25
I usually only drink diet softdrinks, because I prefer the taste plus I was diagnosed with diabetes last march.
post #8 of 25
God, some of you are downers.



Yeah, only Dr. Pepper from Dublin, TX is made with sugar, and it's marked as such. Imperial sugar. ANyone know if Imperial sugar is vegan?
post #9 of 25
I think some of the overseas varieties have sugar too. Dr. Pepper here in the UK is actually owned by Coca-Cola. That's just so....wrong.



When I was in university, one of my friends and I had a web page rating all of the "fake" Dr. Peppers we could find, with pictures! I so wish we'd kept it going.
The ones I pity are the ones who never stick out their neck for something they believe, never know the taste of moral struggle, and never have the thrill of victory. - Jonathan Kozol
Reply
The ones I pity are the ones who never stick out their neck for something they believe, never know the taste of moral struggle, and never have the thrill of victory. - Jonathan Kozol
Reply
post #10 of 25
I haven't had Dr Pepper since I was a kid, but I used to love it!



I think I read somewhere that it contains cochineal?
post #11 of 25
It doesn't here, at least the diet one. I've never seen it on the US version either, and it's pretty easy to spot there, since it's supposed to be labelled "cochineal" and not an e number, etc.



Bug juice =
The ones I pity are the ones who never stick out their neck for something they believe, never know the taste of moral struggle, and never have the thrill of victory. - Jonathan Kozol
Reply
The ones I pity are the ones who never stick out their neck for something they believe, never know the taste of moral struggle, and never have the thrill of victory. - Jonathan Kozol
Reply
post #12 of 25
I am pretty sure it doesn't have cochineal.



<-- Dr. Pepper freak
post #13 of 25
Some varieties DO have "red 40" in them, like the cherry chocolate Dr. Pepper that has been available lately. I don't know if the regular does or not. I generally avoid anything with that nasty corn syrup in it, but was curious enough about whether Dr. Pepper could taste chocolately that I read the ingredients. Now I'll never know if it is chocolately.
post #14 of 25
I LOVE Dr. Pepper!
post #15 of 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by DMZdogs View Post

Some varieties DO have "red 40" in them, like the cherry chocolate Dr. Pepper that has been available lately. I don't know if the regular does or not. I generally avoid anything with that nasty corn syrup in it, but was curious enough about whether Dr. Pepper could taste chocolately that I read the ingredients. Now I'll never know if it is chocolately.



Red no. 40 is vegan, by the way. It used to be thought to be made with cochineal or carmine, but it's actually made from coal tar derivatives.
post #16 of 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blobbenstein View Post

I usually only drink diet softdrinks, because I prefer the taste plus I was diagnosed with diabetes last march.



don't drink soda anymore!
post #17 of 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bells View Post

Red no. 40 is vegan, by the way. It used to be thought to be made with cochineal or carmine, but it's actually made from coal tar derivatives.



MMMmmmm nothing like a little coal tar derivative!!!
post #18 of 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bells View Post

Red no. 40 is vegan, by the way. It used to be thought to be made with cochineal or carmine, but it's actually made from coal tar derivatives.





post #19 of 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bells View Post

Red no. 40 is vegan, by the way. It used to be thought to be made with cochineal or carmine, but it's actually made from coal tar derivatives.



... I'm not so sure if that makes me feel better or worse
post #20 of 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by as1findr3am View Post

Okay, so I emailed Dr. Pepper asking if they used sugar that is filtered through animal bi-products such as bone char. This was thier reply:

"December 31, 2007

Dear Mr.****:



thats no way to answer a customer
post #21 of 25
I don't really like soda. It's just blah. But if I had a preference, it would happen to be Dr. Pepper. I'm still torn at the moment of what to think.
post #22 of 25
I hated Dr. Pepper as a kid, but I love it now. I have been drinking Pepsi since I was in the womb (I'm serious, unfortunately) and it is an addition for me. I've been able to take myself off of it and get through the caffeine headaches, but the taste is so good!



I've been better though. I drink one 20 oz. every morning at work, then use the bottle for water the rest of the day. Now if I could just convince my work to recycle plastic bottles and paper we'd be set.
post #23 of 25
Being from Texas and having gone to school in Waco, Dr Pepper runs in my veins.



So yay! vegan! Boo HFCS. IF I drink soda (rare), then I drink DP. Sweet, sweet nectar.
post #24 of 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bells View Post

I hate high fructose corn syrup. I refuse to eat anything made with it.



Me too.
post #25 of 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by hellodarling View Post

Being from Texas and having gone to school in Waco, Dr Pepper runs in my veins.



So yay! vegan! Boo HFCS. IF I drink soda (rare), then I drink DP. Sweet, sweet nectar.



Baylor Bears represent. My granddaddy and his father both taught there.
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Vegan Support Forum
VeggieBoards › Forums › Vegan Forums › Vegan Support Forum › Dr. Pepper