or Connect
VeggieBoards › Forums › Vegetarian Forums › Vegetarian Support Forum › Is LIPASE vegetarian?
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Is LIPASE vegetarian?

post #1 of 6
Thread Starter 
ay i just bought Organic Macaroni & Cheese from Whole Foods I'm wondering if lipase is vegetarian. Its in the Parmesan Cheese. Is it similar to rennet cuz i dont eat that.



Thanks 4 ur help.
post #2 of 6
http://www.umm.edu/altmed/ConsSupplements/Lipasecs.html
post #3 of 6
lipase can be non-vegetarian. http://www.vrg.org/press/97juningred.htm says that it is typically derived from hogs. i suggest asking the company about their source.
post #4 of 6
I did a Google search, looks like it can be either, I'd recommend contacting the company.



ETA: Bah!
Follow me on Twitter - @_jorts
Reply
Follow me on Twitter - @_jorts
Reply
post #5 of 6
Lipase is an enzyme that interacts with lipids (in food, lipids are fats and oils).



They can be synthetic or biological - check with the company which one it uses.
post #6 of 6
Thread Starter 
I just send an email to whole foods thanx 4 helping me. ill post the response here later.
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Vegetarian Support Forum
VeggieBoards › Forums › Vegetarian Forums › Vegetarian Support Forum › Is LIPASE vegetarian?