Originally Posted by vegematarian
Does anyone know if most cornbread contains lard? I bought some boxes of the mix and realized it contained lard.
A lot of recipes for cornbread call for lard or bacon grease.
For instance at Cracker Barrel their corn bread has bacon grease. And ever vegetable they make (except a plain baked potato) has butter or animal fat used in the cooking of it.
If you are South of the Mason Dixon line I would always assume (unless you know different) that the corn bread has some form of animal product in it. From bacon grease or lard to butter, eggs, buttermilk or plain milk.