or Connect
VeggieBoards › Forums › Vegan Forums › Vegan Support Forum › Are jr mints vegan?
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Are jr mints vegan?

post #1 of 32
Thread Starter 
It looks like it but I could be wrong. People say skittles aren't but I don't see how. My friend has celiacs and a casein intolerance and says foods say they don't have dairy in them but they really do. So confusing
I used to avoid soy but ill consume a little if its organic and fermented lol
Reply
I used to avoid soy but ill consume a little if its organic and fermented lol
Reply
post #2 of 32
No. Junior Mints contain gelatin *cries* so they're not even vegetarian, much less vegan.

I miss Junior Mints.
*this space not for sale*
Reply
*this space not for sale*
Reply
post #3 of 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by ebonyvegetarian View Post

It looks like it but I could be wrong. People say skittles aren't but I don't see how. My friend has celiacs and a casein intolerance and says foods say they don't have dairy in them but they really do. So confusing

I too miss Junior Mints!
I haven't anything vegan that matches that creamy mint. Endangered Species Mint dark chocolate is good though it's just mint flavor choco.

Some Skittles have gelatin-others don't. The crazy core actually said gelatin free on the package. Other than gelatin I don't believe theres anything else to worry about.

At Christmas time Junior Mints put out Christmas colored ones that are identical without gelatin. I say e-mail them till they cave!
post #4 of 32
<3 junior mints.

So sad. :'(
Disclaimer: I'm insane.
Reply
Disclaimer: I'm insane.
Reply
post #5 of 32


Why you gotta break my heart, Jr. Mints?!

They do the gelatin-free ones for Easter, too. Has anyone written them? If not, I totally will.
post #6 of 32
Thread Starter 
How do u know it has gelatin? It doesn't say it anywhere in the ingredients
I used to avoid soy but ill consume a little if its organic and fermented lol
Reply
I used to avoid soy but ill consume a little if its organic and fermented lol
Reply
post #7 of 32
It does on the ones I've looked at. From several websites:
Quote:
Junior Mints Ingredients: sugar, semi-sweet chocolate (sugar, chocolate, cocoa butter, soya lecithin – an emulsifier, vanillin – an artificial flavor), corn syrup, confectioner’s glaze, modified food starch, peppermint oil, invertase (an enzyme that breaks down sucrose into glucose and fructose), soya albumin (a natural form of water-soluble soy protein), gelatin

American Skittles (the red bag ones) should be vegan. I just looked when we were there about 3 weeks ago, and they were junk food for sure, but animal-free. http://www.zeer.com/Food-Products/Sk...213bae3e0d12cb. I don't really know about the sugar I suppose.
The ones I pity are the ones who never stick out their neck for something they believe, never know the taste of moral struggle, and never have the thrill of victory. - Jonathan Kozol
Reply
The ones I pity are the ones who never stick out their neck for something they believe, never know the taste of moral struggle, and never have the thrill of victory. - Jonathan Kozol
Reply
post #8 of 32
It's the very last ingredient too. The peppermint crunch ones that come out around Christmas have no gelatin. Are you reading an ingredients list on a box you own?
post #9 of 32
I wonder if the gelatin is only in the shell?
The ones I pity are the ones who never stick out their neck for something they believe, never know the taste of moral struggle, and never have the thrill of victory. - Jonathan Kozol
Reply
The ones I pity are the ones who never stick out their neck for something they believe, never know the taste of moral struggle, and never have the thrill of victory. - Jonathan Kozol
Reply
post #10 of 32
I think they recently dropped the gelatin, although I haven't looked at any labels recently. I think the coating contains confectioner's glaze, though.
post #11 of 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by RunnerVeggie View Post

I think they recently dropped the gelatin, although I haven't looked at any labels recently. I think the coating contains confectioner's glaze, though.

Every time I check the ingredients on the box, I see gelatin listed.
*this space not for sale*
Reply
*this space not for sale*
Reply
post #12 of 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amy SF View Post

Every time I check the ingredients on the box, I see gelatin listed.

Yeah, a quick search shows that they are still listed as containing gelatin the few places I can find. Maybe it was just a rumor..
post #13 of 32
Thread Starter 
The one I buy at speedway and walmart do not have gelatin yay!
I used to avoid soy but ill consume a little if its organic and fermented lol
Reply
I used to avoid soy but ill consume a little if its organic and fermented lol
Reply
post #14 of 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by ebonyvegetarian View Post

The one I buy at speedway and walmart do not have gelatin yay!

Do they have confectioner's glaze? It contains shellac, which comes from insects and isn't vegan. So..watch out before the vegan police come and throw you in the beegan looney bin like me..!
post #15 of 32
Oh no, I see the vegan police coming. RUN!
post #16 of 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amy SF View Post

Every time I check the ingredients on the box, I see gelatin listed.

Same here.
Everybody is a genius, but if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will spend its whole life believing that it is stupid...~Albert Einstein~
"Nothing tastes as good as kindness feels" - ~ElaineV~
Reply
Everybody is a genius, but if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will spend its whole life believing that it is stupid...~Albert Einstein~
"Nothing tastes as good as kindness feels" - ~ElaineV~
Reply
post #17 of 32
I was pretty sure Trader Joe's dark chocolate after dinner mints were vegan...but an internet search is not turning up proof. I will have to check next time I'm there.
Everybody is a genius, but if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will spend its whole life believing that it is stupid...~Albert Einstein~
"Nothing tastes as good as kindness feels" - ~ElaineV~
Reply
Everybody is a genius, but if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will spend its whole life believing that it is stupid...~Albert Einstein~
"Nothing tastes as good as kindness feels" - ~ElaineV~
Reply
post #18 of 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by RunnerVeggie View Post

Do they have confectioner's glaze? It contains shellac, which comes from insects and isn't vegan. So..watch out before the vegan police come and throw you in the beegan looney bin like me..!

Lol beegan lol. I'm sorry but that's just a funny word. It just sounds so odd.
post #19 of 32
I just got Skittles a few weeks ago at the movies after hearing they were vegan, and gelatin was listed on the bag. Very confusing.
post #20 of 32
I think the issue might be that there are a lot of old candies floating around.
post #21 of 32
I know it's more convenient to buy the candies, but you can make your own junior mints. I made these for christmas one year and they were a big hit! You can even make different flavors.

http://vegweb.com/index.php?topic=13189.0
post #22 of 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by ebonyvegetarian View Post

The one I buy at speedway and walmart do not have gelatin yay!

I just saw a box without gelatin- but had confectioners glaze and invertase!
post #23 of 32

Hey!  I just started a petition on change.org to make Jr. Mints vegan!  Please sign it if you still miss Jr. Mints and wish they didn't have gelatin:  https://www.change.org/petitions/tootsie-roll-industries-make-jr-mints-vegan-get-the-pig-skin-cow-hides-bones-and-hooves-out

 

Thanks!

post #24 of 32

I bought my husband Junior Mints without gelatin back in January at Dollar Tree.

post #25 of 32
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zhbMqjnYNfI

classic Seinfeld junior mint clip...
post #26 of 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by suki36 View Post

Hey!  I just started a petition on change.org to make Jr. Mints vegan!  Please sign it if you still miss Jr. Mints and wish they didn't have gelatin:  https://www.change.org/petitions/tootsie-roll-industries-make-jr-mints-vegan-get-the-pig-skin-cow-hides-bones-and-hooves-out

 

Thanks!

 

Yeah, I don't think they use gelatin anymore. All of the boxes I have picked up recently haven't have it.

post #27 of 32
The Tootsie website is terrible and for some reason lists everything but the ingredients. brood.gif I know late last year they did still have gelatin and confectioner's glaze. My sister had a box and out of curiosity I checked to see if it was the same, and it was.

Now, if Andes were made vegan, my life may very well be complete.

Your KORRA mom KORRA said KORRA I KORRA could KORRA take KORRA you KORRA to KORRA the KORRA dance KORRA tonight.

Join Korra Nation and I promise I'll stop talking about Korra for 30 days.

Reply

Your KORRA mom KORRA said KORRA I KORRA could KORRA take KORRA you KORRA to KORRA the KORRA dance KORRA tonight.

Join Korra Nation and I promise I'll stop talking about Korra for 30 days.

Reply
post #28 of 32

I stopped ordering them from the movie theaters everytime I go cause I saw that gelatin is listed as an ingredient. I'm not sure if they dropped it. huh.gif

post #29 of 32
I've bought lots of junior mints in stores - they contain confectioners glaze but no gelatin. I'm not sure if movie theaters have old stock or if they continue to make some with gelatin, but gelatin free ones do exist.
post #30 of 32

Really? I'll have to check that out soon then. I've been avoiding them all year long. Thanks!

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Vegan Support Forum
VeggieBoards › Forums › Vegan Forums › Vegan Support Forum › Are jr mints vegan?