or Connect
VeggieBoards › Forums › Vegan Forums › Vegan Support Forum › Is there anything vegan at dairy queen?
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Is there anything vegan at dairy queen?

post #1 of 19
Thread Starter 
I'm goin there tonight
post #2 of 19
Only if you get a salad with no dressing I believe
post #3 of 19
According to a quick web search, their 'slushies' (or whatever the heck they're calling them now) are vegan.
don't take my life away, don't take my life away.
Reply
don't take my life away, don't take my life away.
Reply
post #4 of 19
According to the below source, the Arctic Rush (previously the Mr. Misty) is vegan.



http://www.veganeatingout.com/dairyqueen.html
post #5 of 19
The Starkisses!!!!



They are SO good! They're star shaped popsicle things, but they're thicker and way better than a regular popsicle. Kind of like sherbet on a stick.



Sometimes they're not even on the menu, but ask for one. They have a cherry kind and a red white and blue one. I like the cherry better, but they're both good. With as good as they are, I'm really surprised they don't always have them on the menu or promote them better because anyone that I've known (vegan or not) that's tried one has loved it and never heard of it before.



Ahhh I believe I will now be stopping to pick one up today!
post #6 of 19
I had absolutely no idea that there was anything vegan on the menu at all...My hometown doesn't have a DQ with a brazier, but my mom sometimes gets a whole bunch of starkisses to put in the freezer. Good to know if she offers me one!
post #7 of 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Annette Parkes View Post

If their french fries are vegan (according to that website) then are the onion rings as well?



With most places that have onion rings, they are never vegan, and many times not even vegetarian.

Your KORRA mom KORRA said KORRA I KORRA could KORRA take KORRA you KORRA to KORRA the KORRA dance KORRA tonight.

Join Korra Nation and I promise I'll stop talking about Korra for 30 days.

Reply

Your KORRA mom KORRA said KORRA I KORRA could KORRA take KORRA you KORRA to KORRA the KORRA dance KORRA tonight.

Join Korra Nation and I promise I'll stop talking about Korra for 30 days.

Reply
post #8 of 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Annette Parkes View Post

If their french fries are vegan (according to that website) then are the onion rings as well?



Quote:
Originally Posted by Puppet Master View Post

With most places that have onion rings, they are never vegan, and many times not even vegetarian.



Yeah, onion rings are often made with milk and eggs.
post #9 of 19
Good to know since hubby LOVES dairy queen!
post #10 of 19
My first thought when I read the title of the thread was "errr, maybe water?" I am glad to know that even a restaurant that has "dairy" in the name has at least a couple vegan options, maybe there is hope yet!
post #11 of 19
Their fat free Italian and French dressings are also vegan, I believe.



I had one of their strawberry/kiwi slushes today - refreshig and not super sweet. (I hate stuff that's really sweet.)
post #12 of 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Annette Parkes View Post

If their french fries are vegan (according to that website) then are the onion rings as well?



Quote:
Originally Posted by Puppet Master View Post

With most places that have onion rings, they are never vegan, and many times not even vegetarian.



Quote:
Originally Posted by danakscully64 View Post

Yeah, onion rings are often made with milk and eggs.



Unfortunately. Every onion ring I have ever looked at, has had whey in it... I miss onion rings



I would try and make them myself, but even the bread crumbs I have looked at, have some sort of animal product in it..
The worst sin toward our fellow creatures is not to hate them, but to be indifferent to them. That is the essence of humanity.
Reply
The worst sin toward our fellow creatures is not to hate them, but to be indifferent to them. That is the essence of humanity.
Reply
post #13 of 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by HiNiceVegan View Post

Unfortunately. Every onion ring I have ever looked at, has had whey in it... I miss onion rings



I would try and make them myself, but even the bread crumbs I have looked at, have some sort of animal product in it..



Make your own bread crumbs!
post #14 of 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by dirtytreehugger View Post

Make your own bread crumbs!



Then there becomes the food that I want that is just too much trouble to make. So I will do without.
The worst sin toward our fellow creatures is not to hate them, but to be indifferent to them. That is the essence of humanity.
Reply
The worst sin toward our fellow creatures is not to hate them, but to be indifferent to them. That is the essence of humanity.
Reply
post #15 of 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by HiNiceVegan View Post

Then there becomes the food that I want that is just too much trouble to make. So I will do without.



use panko! Mmmm...it'll become even crispier!!
post #16 of 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cedre View Post

use panko! Mmmm...it'll become even crispier!!

\\]





I have not found any vegan panko.. Every single brand I have looked at has eggs in it.
The worst sin toward our fellow creatures is not to hate them, but to be indifferent to them. That is the essence of humanity.
Reply
The worst sin toward our fellow creatures is not to hate them, but to be indifferent to them. That is the essence of humanity.
Reply
post #17 of 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Discobanditt View Post

According to the below source, the Arctic Rush (previously the Mr. Misty) is vegan.



http://www.veganeatingout.com/dairyqueen.html



This is correct. I went last week with some friends. I felt guilty that I was eating processed crap/high fructose corn syrup sugary fail... but the lemon/lime slush was yummy REALLY too sweet imo... maybe I should have asked for 1/10 of a squirt of the syrup.



As for their fried foods like french fries... McDonald's flavours theirs with beef iirc... so ask what they flavour the fries with, if they fry meat in the same oil, if the oil is plant based, and if the onion ring batter is made up of vegan ingredients.
post #18 of 19
yea like Kris said, most fast food places are going to fry the french fries or onion rings in the same oil they fry their fish or meat.
post #19 of 19
I made onion rings one time with the recipe that PETA had in their Vegetarian Starter Kit for the chicken fingers (we also made chicken fingers with the batter) and they were really good.



There weren't any bread crumbs in the recipe. Here's a link. http://www.cestlavegan.com/2010/02/f...icken-fingers/
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Vegan Support Forum
VeggieBoards › Forums › Vegan Forums › Vegan Support Forum › Is there anything vegan at dairy queen?