or Connect
VeggieBoards › Forums › Local Forums › United Kingdom › Is Bird's Custard Powder Vegan?
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Is Bird's Custard Powder Vegan?

post #1 of 9
Thread Starter 
I've started making it with soymilk as I read the ingredients and I didn't think there was anything not ok in there - but then I'm quite new to this and not up on my ingredients yet......anybody know if it is vegan? I know you can get Alpro soya ready made custard but if I can I'd rather make it myself as they tend to put loads of sugar in the pre-made ones.
ÂMay all beings everywhere plagued with sufferings of body and mind quickly be freed from their pain. May those frightened cease to be afraid, and may those bound be free. May the powerless find power, and may people befriend all life. May those of all species who find themselves lost, the young,...
Reply
ÂMay all beings everywhere plagued with sufferings of body and mind quickly be freed from their pain. May those frightened cease to be afraid, and may those bound be free. May the powerless find power, and may people befriend all life. May those of all species who find themselves lost, the young,...
Reply
post #2 of 9
It's vegan. It's listed on the Animal Free Shopper on the Vegan Society website. It contains anatto which is a plant based food colouring. Make sure you have a tub that says that, and not natural food colouring xxx
post #3 of 9
Thread Starter 
Thanks Milliebert! Very grateful for your help. This place really is the fountain of all knowledge! xxx
ÂMay all beings everywhere plagued with sufferings of body and mind quickly be freed from their pain. May those frightened cease to be afraid, and may those bound be free. May the powerless find power, and may people befriend all life. May those of all species who find themselves lost, the young,...
Reply
ÂMay all beings everywhere plagued with sufferings of body and mind quickly be freed from their pain. May those frightened cease to be afraid, and may those bound be free. May the powerless find power, and may people befriend all life. May those of all species who find themselves lost, the young,...
Reply
post #4 of 9
I didn't realise that! I abandoned mine in favour of Alpro custard as I thought for certain it would have powdered milk in it. Yay!
post #5 of 9
Ingredients

Cornflour, Salt, Colour (Annatto), Flavouring.



Definitely on the vegan website, but I just saw these on Ocado and it says flavouring - not sure what that is but I'll trust the Vegan Society! x
post #6 of 9
Oooh - that's great. I found a tub of it in the back of my cupboard earlier, and was wondering! And it doesn't even contain sugar. Bonus
post #7 of 9
Yep..vegan all the way. This stuff is awesome. I've found though, fyi, that it doesn't really work well with rice milk...turns into a glass weirdness. Beli, to make the custard you add sugar, so the end result isn't sugar-free (which would be kinda gross anyway).
The ones I pity are the ones who never stick out their neck for something they believe, never know the taste of moral struggle, and never have the thrill of victory. - Jonathan Kozol
Reply
The ones I pity are the ones who never stick out their neck for something they believe, never know the taste of moral struggle, and never have the thrill of victory. - Jonathan Kozol
Reply
post #8 of 9
I find it works well with oat milk. I use it to make banana custard.
Are you sure this is art, not vandalism?
Reply
Are you sure this is art, not vandalism?
Reply
post #9 of 9
Ugh - Bird's Custard. In my house, that's a euphemism for something you might find on your car
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: United Kingdom
VeggieBoards › Forums › Local Forums › United Kingdom › Is Bird's Custard Powder Vegan?